Hello and Happy First Day of Spring!

Wow, my first post on Tales from the Crit *shivers* It’s an honor to be here.

I’m Debbie Mumford and I’ve been writing with a view to publication for almost five years now. In some ways, that feels like a lifetime, in others, a blink of an eye. I hope you’ll check out my bio page to see a bit of my history.

But this is a writing centered blog, so let’s talk about where I am right this minute in regard to my writing process.

I’m currently playing with 70 Days of Sweat because I’ve found that my personality responds well to deadline oriented programs. I’ve written three novels with NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). Two of them have been published by Freya’s Bower and the third is currently being shopped with agents.

So, in the spirit of ‘if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it,’ I’m using 70 Days of Sweat to help me get the first draft down for my next contracted novel for Freya’s Bower—Dragons’ Flight: Sorcha’s Children Book 2.

Part of what these fast-write programs do for me is help me gag my internal editor. They give me permission to slap words on the page as fast as I can type without worrying about whether the syntax is correct or even if the plot points make sense. That stuff, I tell myself, comes later. The task at hand is to allow my muse free reign to create a mess.

And, oh my, does she take me literally! In one of my fast-drafts done for NaNoWriMo, I discovered I’d changed the name of my POV character three  times in the space of the month. But that could be fixed during edits. I knew who the character was; I just had to make a final decision about the name. *lol* (Have you ever noticed that you can’t edit what you haven’t written? There’s a lot to be said for just getting it out of your head and onto the page.)

Last NaNo, I hit new heights with my fast-writing. I wrote a young adult novel during November, used Holly Lisle’s One-Pass Manuscript Revision method in December, and submitted the manuscript to a contest before the 12/31 deadline. From start to submission in 60 days! Wow! I felt like a rodeo cowboy calling, “Time!”

This isn’t to suggest that fast-writing will work for everyone. It won’t. What I am suggesting is that once you discover what works for you, exploit it!

Ciao, Crit Readers! I’ll see you in two weeks…

4 Comments

Filed under writing

4 responses to “Hello and Happy First Day of Spring!

  1. talesfromthecrit

    Is it the first day of spring? See how much I don’t know, LOL. Too much time spent staring at screen. Welcome to Tales!!

    AJ

  2. Lisa Stevens

    Hey Debbie! Nice to see you join this fabulous blog 🙂

  3. This blog is definitely moving in positive directions! Congrats on joining in on the fun, Debbie!

    In honor of all the great posts lately, I have a little something for all of you over at my blog. Don’t worry, this is a nice tagging. 🙂

  4. talesfromthecrit

    Thanks for dropping by to read my post!

    —Debbie

Leave a Reply

