Plea for Creative Writing

I just finished watching the movie Enchanted.  I know, I know, I’m a few months late on the bandwagon but I honestly didn’t have any desire to see it when it came out.  However, hearing coworkers rave about it, I decided it was time to check it out.

For any of us who’ve grown up in the time of Disney cartoons, especially the romances from Snow White to Beauty & the Beast, this movie will seem VERY familiar to us.  They use everything from The Sound of Music to The Godfather as little ha-ha moments throughout the movie.  It’s supposed to be tongue-in-cheek, but to me it comes across more as lazy writing.  I know, it’s supposed to be a live-action version of one of those romantic cartoons, but to me it comes across as something we’ve all seen before.

So why am I using this movie as the topic of my entry?  Because I’m tired of the plotlines that are used over and over and over again!  I want to read/watch something that’s totally fresh and new.  Is that impossible?  Not necessarily.  It’s definitely not easy with basically everything having already been done.  But as a writer, this is a good reason to really break away from movies and TV.  So much of what I read has already been written in movies or TV.  I want to see something different.

Maybe I’m just being greedy.  Maybe I’m just tired of spending my piddling paychecks on things that are boring.  I don’t know what my issue is, but honestly…can’t we do something better?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Plea for Creative Writing

  1. talesfromthecrit

    I just watched Enchanted last night. And I honestly loved it. I thought it was adorable. My husband and I were grinning and holding hands like little kids by the time it was over.

    I don’t know. It reinforced my belief in love and happy endings and fun. It wasn’t supposed to be deep. Just sweet and funny.

    I was really impressed to be honest. I’m going to buy it today or tomorrow because it was rented.

    AJ

  2. talesfromthecrit

    Hmmm…interesting. I saw it at the theater when it first came out and loved it. I intend to buy a copy. Shrugs.

    I agree that they used every cliche imaginable, but I thought quite a few of them were done in fresh, enjoyable ways. And when it came time for the climax, they avoided the easy path, completely surprising me with a twist. Truly, I think that twist at the end was what allowed me to say, “Okay, this passes. I had fun.”

    As my crit group used to say, “You have to find your audience.” Not everyone will appreciate any piece of work, fiction, movie, or other form of expression.

  3. talesfromthecrit

    Sorry…I’m not used to this yet. That last post was from Debbie…

  4. It’s not that I hated the movie…maybe I just wasn’t in the mood for it. 🙂 I notice that sometimes my taste is very different from others. 🙂 Everyone has their own taste. 😀

Leave a Reply

