The NOT So Wonderful

At some point in your life you’ve come upon a book that just doesn’t sit well with you. Matter fact, you might find an author whom you’ve tried a few times and something STILL doesn’t click with you. Perhaps you’ve even tossed a few at the wall because of your frustrations with the author’s voice. You might have even wrote an heated review about how the book was the worst the author has ever written and swear off to ever buying them again.

Any of this ringing true?

I have an author whose books I’ve tried to like. Wanted to like. I just… couldn’t. As a very forgiving person, if I find I don’t like a book this doesn’t mean I give up on that author. Nope! I try one or two more before totally writing the author off. After eight, yes EIGHT, books by this one author, I finally wrote her off. I swore to myself that I would never buy a book with her again.

Never always comes too soon.

I recently found out that the author, who I have the utmost respect for but total distaste for reading, will be in a novella with several of my other favorite authors. Thus means, I will be buying this book. Now don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against this author. Matter fact, my opinion of her is really high. But she is just not someone I can read and enjoy.

However, I’ve decided to give author Ms. X (obviously not her real name) another chance. I know, very forgiving of me. But I truly believe that authors can have “off” books.

So today my questions to you are: What do you do if you don’t mesh well with a book and/or author? Do you give them more chances or blacklist them for life?

I do ask you to please keep your comments civil and not list the books and authors.

5 Comments

Filed under reading

5 responses to “The NOT So Wonderful

  1. talesfromthecrit

    There’s a woman who writes for Harlequin Intrigues and has been for a long, long time and I must have read ten of her books and hated all of them before I suddenly made the connection that they were all written by the same person. And wouldn’t you know it that I still want to keep buying them because the backs seem so interesting. But the story inside is never as good.

    But I’m like you. I just keep thinking, “Well, maybe the next one will be better.”

    AJ

  2. mamadivine

    I read this one book after hearing people go on and on and on about how great this book is. And how it gave birth to a new genre. It was a major disappointment in so many ways. I couldn’t (didn’t want to) relate to the heroine and the heroine/hero relationship, which I kept reading for didn’t materialize until the last few pages. The author has other books, but I won’t be reading them.

  3. I’ll usually give an author a couple of tries before banishing them to the forever backlist, especially if they’re a bestselling author. A lot of the time it has nothing to do with them or their writing. It’s that I have internalized their plots/characters, etc. so much that they fail to entertain me because I “already read” that story. Average readers are more than happy to read the same story over and over. It’s comforting to them to get exactly what they’re expecting, but to me, that’s boring. There are too many books out there for me to be spending time reading something I’ve already read but with different names, locales, situations, and professions.

  4. talesfromthecrit

    I don’t really think of it as “blacklisting.” I read a book and don’t care for it, I probably just won’t buy by that author again – exception being genre. I’ve read a particular author’s urban fantasy and loved it, read the same author’s traditional fantasy and hated it. So one genre I’ll buy, the other I won’t. But IMO it’s not “blacklisting” to not buy an author, unless you’re deliberately doing it to make a point of something. Not buying is just…not buying. Boycotting is a different ballgame. 🙂

    Em

  5. I’ll usually give an author a second chance, but I won’t spend money on the next book (I’ll get it from the library, loan from a friend, etc). If both books miss the mark with me, I normally won’t try another one from that author, but I have given a few authors 3rd and 4th chances. They’re very popular authors, huge fanbases, lots of people who love their work–but I just didn’t care for their writing style.

    You are very generous to give someone eight chances 🙂

Leave a Reply

