Knowledge Makes For Bad Reading

Remember before you began writing when books were fun and delightfully entertaining?

Yeah, I do too and sadly that is no longer the case. I have learned so much over the course of my writing and will admit that it stinks! The books I once loved to read so much are now riddled with flaws. Before I could ignore these small mistakes or I plainly just didn’t know about the errors.

Not anymore!

I am currently reading a really great story but I keep getting pulled out of it for small accuracy  problems or language that doesn’t fit the time period.

For example: Bloody — In historical novels it’s a commonly used as a curse word. We’ve all read the hero have something go a muck and he says something like “Bloody Hell!”

This would not happen! Or let me rephrase, it SHOULDN’T happen. Men back then never said this in front of a lady. It just wasn’t done. Think of it as saying F*ck in front of your very reserved church-going grandma.

I’ll continue to read the book and will most likely enjoy it, as a whole, very much. However, I personally think the finish-a-book-in-one-sitting days are over.

What do you think? As a writer do you find tiny mistakes annoying or do you ignore them and read on?

4 Comments

Filed under reading

4 responses to “Knowledge Makes For Bad Reading

  1. Inez Kelley

    Oh yeah, one of my favorite books, one I reread often, got a OMGWTF!! last week. Why? Major head hopping. Like baaaaad. And the gerunds, lots and lots of gerunds. I still love it. It still tugs at my heartstrings, but now I see blemishes. *sigh* Not fun. It is like finally noticing the man behind the curtain. Less AWE, more awww damn.

    Ignorance was bliss.

  2. talesfromthecrit

    I went through a period where I had to start reading non-fiction because I couldn’t stop picking novels apart.

    But now I turn that part of me off unless something is really bad. It just makes my life easier that way.

    AJ

  3. Depends on the book. The story has to be really good to get me past typographical flaws – I still notice them but I don’t dwell. That’s kind of the test of a good book for me – can I ignore a missing period? LOL

  4. mamadivine

    I’ve stopped reading many novels because I kept noticing things. And it’s not like I’m looking for flaws either. Writing has made me more aware. If the story’s really engaging, I can overlook stuff.

Leave a Reply

