Wouldn’t It Be Good to be on Your Side, the Grass is Always Greener Over There

I’ve had that song from Pretty in Pink in my head for literally days.  It is embedded and will not go away.  It has so little to do with the actual subject of today’s blog that it would be funny if it wasn’t kind of sad.  But I thought writing it down might make it go away.

Actually, it does have a little something to do with it.  This blog is about songs.   I’m personally one of those people who picks at least one “official” song for everything I write.  If I don’t have one I feel as naked as my son when he streaks on the front lawn (and no I don’t encourage him.)

But sometimes I kill time during the writing process…doing lots of things that aren’t important.  But I also spend a lot of time riffling through sites like Rhapsody.com looking for the right musical interlude that speaks to me about my WIP.  Hey, its closer to actually making progress on my stories than when I sit in front of my screen and clip my nails which has also been known to happen.

But I started thinking the other day that I had heard a song that I decided should be the official writer’s song.  My husband says that it applies to anyone who keeps pushing for something and not making a lot of progress but let’s face it.  Aren’t too many jobs where you take as many beatings as this one.  In any other career field I would have have said, “Screw this.” by now and walked away.

So I’ve adopted the song Stop and Stare by OneRepublic as the official writer song.  Now this is not to say that it entirely fits but the chorus does and like most people I’ve decided to ignore the rest of the song and latch on to just the chorus.  This video is so bizarre I watched it with a furrow in my brows until the point where it ended and I truly said, “What the h*ll?”  And many of you know I never cuss, at least out loud.  I do it on paper a lot ;).  It’s a very odd video.  So I’ve decided to pretend that the video doesn’t exist either.  So here’s the parts that matter, seperated out so they probably don’t make a lot sense together.  Just take the individual sentences for what they are…

“I’m staring down myself, counting up the years

Stop and stare
I think I’m moving but I go nowhere
Yeah I know that everyone gets scared
But I’ve become what I can’t be, oh
Stop and stare
You start to wonder why you’re ‘here’ not there
And you’d give anything to get what’s fair
But fair ain’t what you really need
Oh, can u see what I see

Steady feet, don’t fail me now
Gonna run till you can’t walk
But something pulls my focus out
And I’m standing down…”

I don’t know about you but I constantly feel this way in the writing game.  I think I’m moving but I go nowhere?  It’s like he read my mind.  So anyway, here it is.  My ultimate writers ballad.  What’s yours?

AJ

4 Comments

Filed under AJ, writing

4 responses to “Wouldn’t It Be Good to be on Your Side, the Grass is Always Greener Over There

  1. mamadivine

    Deana Carter’s Sunny Day was my unofficial writer’s ballad awhile back. I used listen to it when I was feeling discouraged. Here are the lyrics (copied from http://www.cowboylyrics.com/lyrics/carter-deana/sunny-day-15189.html):

    i ain’t picked up my guitar in 15 days
    some music man doesn’t give a damn
    what i have to say
    but he’s stealing tears and playing games
    that i don’t play
    i’m not gonna let that son-of-a-b**** take my love away
    you can’t take my love away…

    (CHORUS)

    so roll me over, over, over
    while you turn your head
    hold me under, under
    while i take in my last
    it gets colder, colder, colder
    while you try to save yourself
    god’s gonna blow your clouds away
    and give me sunny day.

    it’s on the telephone, the tv and on the radio
    any day now the final whistle is bound to blow
    but this ain’t the way we have to say we had to go
    there’s still a chance that hand-in-hand and shore-to-shore
    they can’t take our love away…

    (REPEAT CHORUS)

  2. talesfromthecrit

    See, I knew someone else had to have one. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  3. Inez Kelley

    I am a country gal but slow jazz works for sex scenes. I really don’t have a theme song but for JINXED, Patsy Cline’s Crazy played through my head the entire manuscript.

  4. talesfromthecrit

    I LOVE that song. I’m a huge Patsy fan. 🙂

    AJ

Leave a Reply

