I Have A Dream

I had another post ready for today, but scrapped it once I realized today is the 40th anniversary of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr’s death.  He was Memphis, Tennessee to lead a protest march in support of striking sanitation workers when he was assassinated. 

So in honor of Dr. King’s great legacy, I have tweaked a few lines from his  I Have A Dream speech, which he delivered August 28, 1963 at the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, DC.   I got the text from this site.

MLK:  And so even though we face the difficulties of today and tomorrow, I still have a dream. It is a dream deeply rooted in the American dream.

Me:  And so even though I face the difficulties of writing,  I still have a dream of being published.  It is a dream deeply rooted in the American dream.

MLK:  I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal.

Me:  I have a dream that one day the publishing industry will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed:  “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all well written books will be published.

MLK:  I have a dream that one day on the red hills of Georgia, the sons of former slaves and the sons of former slave owners will be able to sit down together at the table of brotherhood.

Me:  I have a dream that one day, the writers of New York publishers and the writers of e-publishers will be able to sit down together at the table of sisterhood and remember that a great story is a great story regardless of what format it comes in. 

MLK:  I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.

Me:  I have a dream that books will one day be published where they are not judged and shelved by the color of the author’s skin, but by the content of the story.

These are some of my dreams.  What are some of yours?

5 Comments

Filed under Kimberly, writing

5 responses to “I Have A Dream

  1. talesfromthecrit

    This is a fascinating post. I always have very emotional feelings about MLK. And hearing the relationship to other things in my every day life is very illuminating.

    Thanks for sharing.

    AJ

  2. inezkelley

    I agree, a very thought provoking approach. Nice job.

  3. Now I’m all tingly. Thanks for reminding us what an important day this is!

  4. jodi

    uhm…you’re not beige like me? Damn.

    I thought we all went to default color–xp blue–lol.

    I have a dream too, that one day–I will find a house, and my mom won’t take away my internet for staying up too late, because you know–kids need their sleep.

Leave a Reply

