RomCom Is dying!! Mouth to Mouth…STAT!!

The rumors of Romantic Comedy’s death seem to float around every few years. I honestly remember reading a magazine in high school (it was chiseled on stone) that talked about how there was nothing funny about love anymore.

Helloooo?

Let’s face it, Love and laughter go together like milk and cookies. Have you ever watched two teenagers in the first blush of young love? They are hysterical. They fight over who hangs up first, count how many times they have said I LOVE YOU. Celebrate things like the 2 month anniversary of our first text message. Even young adults will often use baby talk or those disgusting endearments that no one wants to admit (satchamo, don’t ask, there is a guy out there who knows who he is). My 77 Year old Aunt got remarried recently and literally burst into tears because her elderly groom forgot her favorite flavor ice cream.

Love is funny. It makes you do stupid stuff. It makes you feel goofy. It makes you say things that you will cringe over in 5 years. (I once stood in the rain and sang YOU ARE MY SUNSHINE just to cheer a lover up). If love were just intensity and passion, it would kill us. Seriously, if you can’t laugh with a lover, you have problems.

Take a typical wedding. You are going to try and blend two different families in one large room with alcohol and overpriced rubber chicken. An atmosphere RIPE with humor possibilities. You have children dressed like a miniature bride and groom and you want them to behave. A bunch of single desperate women shoving each other out of the way trying to catch some wilting flowers. There are the goofy relatives that you politely ignore on both sides wearing support hose and buying you a blender. FUNNY!

First sex, come on, is it ever THAT perfect? No, you bump noses, scrape teeth, knock knees and make funny faces at really climactic times. Again, funny.

Love and laughter can never be separated. Impossible. It is like trying to split Heaven and Earth. You can’t have one without the other. Romcom popularity may rise and fall but it never truly dies. Like diaper rash and poison ivy, it stays around, lingers and then explodes when you are least expecting it. When it happens, it takes your breath and makes your sides ache with joy. The best ones make you laugh until you cry and cry until you laugh.

Romcom is here to stay. As long as lovers love, comedy exists. And you’ll laugh at it. And love it.

7 Comments

Filed under Inez, writing

7 responses to “RomCom Is dying!! Mouth to Mouth…STAT!!

  1. Boy, isn’t that the truth? I personally love rom/com, but I HATE it when you can tell the author is trying too hard. It sucks! I prefer romantic comedy that comes across as real.

    I think that’s why I’m such a fan of movies like Never Been Kissed or 13 Going on 30. Sure, the plots are head scratchers, but I completely empathize with the characters. I’ve never been in love, so all that awkwardness and stuff that the characters go through resonates with me.

    And I agree that lovers need to have laughter in their relationship. Constant angst & miscommunications gets really old, really fast.

    PS. Congrats on winning the contest! 🙂 I’m glad the hottie fit your character. That’s always good. 😀

  2. I’ll say this: If you can’t laugh during love/sex, when the heck can you? There is nothing more wonderfully absurd than the act of love, or of falling in love.

    Divine silliness.

    And for me, there’s nothing better than laughter just before the “Wha- whoa! Way-hey!” moment. A more fantabulous shift of gear you’ll never find. 😉

    Ciao!

  3. I so agree. I love rom com. Jennifer Crusie is one of my favorite authors and her romances are full of funny, funny stuff. Most of my characters throw sexy banter at each other. I can’t help it. Life & love is funny, or should be. I think what we need to do now is sneak in those funny moments, that sassy dialogue. They won’t know what hit them!

  4. talesfromthecrit

    I love RomCom but I agree with Bridget. When they try too hard it just hurts. I don’t think it will ever be dead although it may momentarily wane in popularity. I used to have a quote on my wall that said, “You can not truly love someone who never makes you laugh.” And I totally agree with that. Love is funny.

    AJ

  5. I don’t want to live in world where there’s no room for quick-witted humorous love stories.

    end. of. story.

    Great post btw! 🙂

  6. I totally agree, the continued existence of RomCom is not something that needs to be worried about!

  7. It may temporarily back up on the market, but it will never die. Especially with you about to bust onto the market 😉 Go Inez! 😀

Leave a Reply

