It’s Plotastic!

So I started reading this book.  I still haven’t managed to finish it but I am working on it.  I won’t mention what book it was because this is not a review site and it wouldn’t be complimentary but it’s a large book by a large NY publisher and, what a shocker, it’s romantic suspense.  Anyway, this book is like a grab bag o’ plot.  It feels distinctly like someone had five or six plots sitting around and nothing to do with them so they decided to throw em all into a little plot soup.  And then sell it to my dream publisher.  How does that happen?

I will admit to having amalgamated more than one plot into a book.  If I find two that are very similar in my files I may mix them together in certain aspects and create one plot.  But I get a little confused when all the plots don’t even seem related.

Do you ever combine plots?  And if you do, for the love of God, do you make it make sense?

Maybe that’s the way to get a really unique and amazing story.  This is a random thought I just had but we should all try combining the plots of five or six random WIPS and see what you come up with.  I think I’ll try it now.

A woman who is a were cat and a man who is a were mouse find a bunch of bodies that seem to be victims of a ritual killer, strangled with a yellow scarf and then murdered by their grandfather who is obsessed with the family having bad blood.  The hero turns out to be the most famous kidnapped child ever next to the Lindbergh baby and he works as a New York Broadway producer who has a string of dead lovers behind him that he may or may not have murdered.

Actually, this is kind of fun.  You should try it.  And then post it up here.  🙂  I LIKE it.

4 Comments

Filed under AJ, writing

4 responses to “It’s Plotastic!

  1. Haha! Aj that cracked me up.

    “The hero turns out to be the most famous kidnapped child ever next to the Lindbergh baby and he works as a New York Broadway producer who has a string of dead lovers behind him that he may or may not have murdered.”

    I especially love that part. ROFLMAO!

    I don’t think I could do it and I don’t remember ever reading a book where there was so much going on I didn’t see how it all fit together. IF the author manages to work it out satisfactorily in the end, however, I can see how a book like that could be great.

  2. talesfromthecrit

    Yeah, if she brings it all together at the end I may find the book redeemed, LOL.

    AJ

  3. inezkelley

    Now you have got me thinking. Hmmm…where is that idea file?

  4. mamadivine

    I’m with Kelsey, the last paragraph is great, AJ. I had to stifle my laughter because The Man was resting.

Leave a Reply

