Sarcasm? Me?

This has been on my mind lately. Run with me, okay?

I am a sarcastic witch. Seriously, I know this. In no way, shape or form have I deluded myself. This tongue is not only sharp, but witty and somewhat silvered. It’s a gift, really.

I LIKE my sarcasm. Yep. It is like my earlobes, part of me. I could no sooner NOT write with a sarcastic edge as I could grow a male appendage. (Although, if I could manage THAT feat, I would spend way more time in the bathroom than writing. *wink*)

See? I am not even trying. It just slips out. It’s a talent I have had from an early age and yes, sometimes it has gotten me in trouble.

EXAMPLE: In High school, I was one of two students from my home state selected to go to DC to join kids from every other state. Sounds cool? It was. Until Mr. California asked me, in all seriousness, If it was true that in WV we did not have to wear shoes to school. GRRR. Not missing a beat, I replied that shoes were mandatory but that panties were optional. My advisor was not amused.

Example number two: I met my husband in a Burger King drive thru. (true story, swear). So I replied to a friend at our wedding that he got a whopper and a wife, and yes he got a shake with those fries. His 90 year old grandmother nearly swallowed her teeth. You should see the pictures.

Of course, my characters whip out sarcastic one liners. In order to translate it into a story, the words have to ring true to the character. You can’t have a mousy librarian spout a great one liner once. It is either in her or it isn’t. And not all characters are able to pull it off. When those chosen few do, it is wonderful. And I love it.

I am not so thrilled when my children do the same, however. At dinner one night, my 4 year old son was whining. His twin snaps around and says point blank “Good lord AJ, want some cheese with your whine?”

Ooops.

And my 10 year old daughter? Lawd help me now because she is going to have me beat in no time.

Sarcasm is an art form. Not everyone can do it. I take my art seriously. And with mayo and pickle.

10 Comments

Filed under Inez, writing

10 responses to “Sarcasm? Me?

  1. Sarcasm is a gift I cherish. LOL. It’s my nature as well, and unfortunately I passed it on to my kids too, especially my daughter. It’s disconcerting when you get zingers from your 13-year-old,but hey, it’s a lifestyle choice. The world needs sarcasm to balance out all the nonsense that goes on.

  2. Jen

    Yeah, I hear you. It’s all good until your seven year old whips it out on you.
    I used to have a t-shirt. “Sarcasm–It’s A Way Of Life”.
    I should get another one and add “But Not For My Kids Damnit”

  3. A couple years ago, we had my son, then 10, assessed by a psychologist for possible ADD. The verdict was no, he doesn’t have ADD, he’s just very smart and bored.

    In our final assessment, the doctor said, “He has an unusual understanding of sarcasm and irony for his age.”

    To which my husband and I of course replied, in unison, “Well, duh!”

  4. aj

    I have a shirt that says, “Sarcasm, just another service I provide.” I am also very sarcastic. Sometimes I think it’s the only kind of humor I understand. I mean that literally by the way. Other sorts of jokes generally mystify me.

    On an unrelated note…isn’t it Wednesday? I don’t think it’s your day, is it? I thought you were Thursday. I’m so freaking confused.

    AJ

  5. Hey, I’ve blogged twice on the subject myself. I KNOW, who’d a thought?! πŸ™‚ I even got a new avatar for RD out of the deal thanks to Dana Belfry. It’s the National Sarcasm Society. Wanna join?

  6. Sarcasm is an art form. Most people can’t do it. Then the ones who have fined tuned theirs don’t know how to answer straight. I know, because I’m sarcastic.

    It’s seems impossible for me to answer a question “yes” or “no”. IMPOSSIBLE.

    So, I’ll be willing to join The National Sarcasm Society.

  7. Sarcasm is my friend. It lets my other friends know what I think of stupid people without them ever catching on. If I had a nickle for every time I have said, “Ya think?” I’d have a lot of nickles.

  8. Ok, I’m with you on this one. I’m a total smart ass and I love it. I’ve tried to curb it, seriously, but it’s like a bubbling volcano and eventually I erupt on everyone around me. I don’t have an issue with it though until I hurt someone else or they take something I’ve said and get mad at it. By that point though it was usually time to find a new friend.

    Anyway, I understand how you feel. It’s a rough life for us smart asses.

  9. I love sarcasm. πŸ™‚ I’m big on zinging one-liners, especially when I’m really tired. Not so much thought at that time of day. πŸ™‚

    I once had this great bumper sticker that I had hanging in my cubicle at work. It said “The only difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits.” And the sad thing? 99% of my coworkers had no idea what it meant. πŸ˜€

  10. Amanda Louise

    Sarcasm from a quiet person puts some people in their place if they are being mean to others, because they don’t know how to retort or where to put their faces.

    Sarcasm for me is cool, and a way to show people that if they say something nasty to me they won’t know what hit them with my reply, because i have a sharp tongue when it comes to this subject.

    But yeah sarcasm is so very great.

Leave a comment