Why I Love to Read Romance

Reading romance has been part of my life for as long as I can remember.  I started reading them so young, but I think I was ready for them.  Other than typical children’s fare, some of the first romances I can remember reading were by Janice Young Brooks and Lucia St. Clair Robson.  They weren’t typical romance, but boy were they good.

The love affair has continued all these years and I can’t imagine life without a great book to read.  For me, reading is an escape.  It gives me the ability to put my own life aside and read about someone else’s.  I don’t have anyone special in my life, so maybe it allows me to live vicariously through characters who do.

For years I’ve wondered what it is about romancs that pull at me.  I think I’ve figured it out.  It’s knowing that there’s almost a 100% guarantee that the characters are going to have a happily ever after.  And if that’s not a reason for reading, I don’t know what is.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

