What Stands In Your Way?

Em and I were talking about this last night and it got me to thinking.  What stands in your way of writing?  I know it’s different for everyone.  For instance, many people can’t write with noise or with their children.  I have a computer in the living room and an autistic son.  Obviously, if I couldn’t write with a screaming child in my proximity I would never write anything at all.  Some people can write when they’re eight months pregnant.  I can’t even imagine how that’s possible.

Em and I were both saying that we are completely derailed by any hormone changes.  Just unable to write.  Every month my Aunt Flo comes a calling, I can’t write a dang thing.  Every time I’ve been pregnant, not a word.  I don’t know how people write when their hormones are fluctuating.  I dread the day when I go through menopause.  I may not write for five years.

So what stops you?  Environment?  Dirty house?  Screaming kids?  People standing too close to you?  (That actually bothers me a little.  When I feel like people are reading over my shoulder.)  Or maybe they are internal.  Arguments, bills due, divorce, lack of self actualization?  Those things can really effect your mindset.

You don’t have to tell me, but I am curious.

AJ

5 Comments

Filed under AJ, writing

5 responses to “What Stands In Your Way?

  1. mamadivine

    Feeling like I’m neglecting my family can/has stopped me from writing. I struggle with finding a balance between doing my wife/mother stuff and doing my stuff.

    Great topic.

  2. As you know, hormones with me – but only some of them. When I’m ovulating, I’m a writing demon (especially sex).

    My various small chronic pains – I can’t write with a raging headache, or if my undiagnosed digestive thing flares up. But I also can’t write if the house is too dirty, or if my husband is restless and moving around a lot (cleaning, etc). I can write just fine if he’s sitting on the couch playing video games, but people moving around me totally distracts me.

    It’s a wonder I get anything done at all 🙂

  3. talesfromthecrit

    Mama, I’m totally with you, as you may recall. If I feel my family is getting the short end of the stick I will just stop writing until I feel like I have the time to balance it with the care and feeding of my kidlets.

  4. Well, I’m divorced and have no kids…and live several states away from family. But something still holds me back.

    Fear. Laziness. Fear. Mis-alignment of the sun, moon and stars.

    I look at this like making up your mind to stop smoking, or to lose weight. It’s a mindset. And life often interrupts that mindset.

    My two.

  5. inez Kelley

    Exhaustion. Seriously, with kids, family, job and writing, there are times I am just too damn tired to write a thing.

    I write at work unless we are busy and then it is impossible. I write with kids fighting, hubby grumping and TV blaring. But I write better when it is quiet. So I stay up late, wee hours usually and then start my day at 6AM. Every few weeks, I just collapse, pay for a day of daycare and just sleep all afternoon. Then I am recharged and ready to go again.

    Now if I could just figure out a way to get my house cleaned in the mean time, all would be good.

Leave a comment