Literary Whore

So I got a request for revisions and a full from a HUGE publisher who pays and pays and pays.  And that’s why I love them.  Because otherwise I don’t think I would ever write this particular stuff.  But the editor who sent the request for revisions was extremely specific about exactly what she wanted and didn’t want.  And I was actually excited about that (because I didn’t have to think too hard about it.)  Which is when I decided for about the two hundreth time since I started writing this story, that I am a literary whore.  I am writing something I couldn’t care less about, for money.

And I am excited when they tell me exactly what to write.

That’s low, AJ.  That’s low.  If I’m so uninspired that I’ve reached the point that I will go back to the reason that I left journalism in the first place and do it happily I’ve got some issues.   But you know what?  I’m still gonna do it.  Because I need a new car.  Because I hate my job and I could quit it if I sold this book.  (I only make 100 to 200 every two weeks.  This is not the big time, people.)  And (Here’s my dirty secret…) this publisher has a line that is almost impossible to break into.  And it’s my dream.  So I’m hoping they will look at me as though I were human, if not as though I have potential, if I do this thing.

So here I am, whoring out my art.  And I can’t say I’m liking it.  But I’m liking the picture of what may come at the end.

AJ

5 Comments

Filed under AJ, writing

5 responses to “Literary Whore

  1. Inez Kelley

    There is something to be said for whoredom. It is the world’s oldest profession for a reason. It works.

  2. Hey, if I wrote at the speeds I did before I got the fibro, I’d do it in a heartbeat. Literary prostitutes unite! 😉

  3. You know what? I’d rather whore out my writing craft than my daily grind job ANY day. (Well, as long as I could still pay my bills.)

    And besides! This seems like a great start–your break, your IN. Get in the door, make your mark, leave your mark, then do something entirely different. Nodody’s writing just one type of fare today.

    Go do Dallas, AJ!

  4. You dirty dirty girl!

    RIGHT ON!!
    If it helps pay the bills, gets some name recognition, and helps get one step away from the day job, that’s worth it.

    (and LOL @ Andi – go do dallas…)

  5. LOL, AJ. I say do what you can while you can and if it’s something that’s reasonably enjoyable and you can actually get a bit excited by your characters as well as your check, go for it!

    My CP usually advises me to write for the market. Sometimes, I like to think up stories that might be a hard sell (not an impossible sell, just not an easy one) and she’ll say, Vivienne, you’ve got to write erotic romance with lots of sex in it. At XYZ publishers they like you to cut to the chase. Save your literary erotic romance for later when you’ve built your audience and you’ve sold a few books. This is a gross paraphrasing of what she actually said, but you get the idea.

    Know that there is no shame in writing things that sell. There’s no shame in making money AS A WRITER. People who don’t pay their bills by writing can say whatever they want about “literary whores”. If you can pay your bills, use your creativity, and respect yourself for it, I say whore it up!

Leave a Reply

