To Prologue or Not to Prologue

I’m one of those people who really like seeing inside and behind the scenes. Yup, that’s me, I dig the bonus features on movies, especially the blooper reels. And for me, reading a Prologue is like getting a sneak peak into the story before actually beginning the story. IF done correctly.

I’ve read info dumps, really fun character introductions and even a few that had me bawling my eyes out before I managed to get to chapter one.

Currently, in my story, I’m having my hero and his brother fighting. Something has happened to in their lives and now one must take care of the other. At least in this scene. I’m hoping it gives the reader a bit of insight to the hero’s personality and how his brother can have his sooo mad but still be willing to take care of him (despite being an ass).

Now, if you remember last week I mentioned writing gothic type stories but I also hope they are a little bit witty as well.

In my Prologue, you meet Ashton (the hero) and his brother (who is well in to his cups). So far I’m really enjoying the interaction between these two and have found myself laughing aloud. Trust me when I say taking care of a drunk person while sober can be hilarious! Even if you are so mad you’re ready to strangle them. I’m hoping I can bring that to the table!

We’ll see.

Anyhow, I’ve rambled on long enough about stuff long enough. It’s now question time: Yay!! *Umm, you’re suppose to cheer too*

Today’s questions: What are you’re thoughts on Prologues? Love em? Hate em? Don’t care either way, it just better move the story? And if you don’t feel like answering those questions how about this one: Are the flowers beginning to bloom where you are?

4 Comments

Filed under writing

4 responses to “To Prologue or Not to Prologue

  1. I have no strong feelings about prologues. 🙂

  2. talesfromthecrit

    I know there’s a lot of people who hate prologues. In one contest I entered I got marks taken off for having a prologue. I actually like them. Especially in a story where I feel like I need to have some information before the story starts. I don’t like them when they seem to serve no particular purpose. But the thing about prologues is no matter how random they seem you can never know whether or not they serve a purpose until later in the story.

    AJ

  3. Inez Kelley

    I can take them or leave them. I like them if they are done in an excellent manner, hate them if they are just blips of backstory.

  4. Ok, I’ve been thinking about this and I do have strong feelings about people who have strong feelings about prologues LOL

    As That Reader who just opens the book and starts reading on a random page (I’ve accidentally started reading chapter 2 before, and not realized I missed chapter 1 til a hundred pages later) I just don’t get the prologue abhorance from a reader standpoint. If you don’t like prologues…don’t read it 😀

Leave a Reply

