When Things Don’t Go Right

Right now I’m working on a website and it’s giving me fits! Yes, I know I could be writing, but hey, this is my day job. The problem is certain elements in the website just don’t want to fit correctly no matter how I wiggle, tweak or bribe them, they just refuse to work.

Then I noticed that it was nearly noon and today was my day to post. Yikes! With my mind cluttered full of coding mumbo-jumbo, it was hard to think of a topic that pertains to writing and then it hit me! Duh! What can we do with our writing to make things go right again? We tweak it, move stuff around and even beg the oh mighty muse to help us out. But what happens when it’s still not right? What do we do then?

Cry, scream and cuss at the screen? Maybe…

No, what we do is go back to when things were right and see how we managed to get off that comfortable path. For a pantster this is really difficult because we often go down several paths and never know what one might lead to. Now those of you who plot, plan and have glorious spreadsheets, I wonder how you got lost in the first place. But admit it, you have something to fall back on.

With websites you generally start to looking for little typos in your coding. Like those pesky semi-colons that always cause so much havoc if not there. Sadly this will not work in a plot. But you can look at your chapters and perhaps pin-point a paragraph or sentence that left you drifting in “I don’t know what’s going on” land.

Your turn to share: Have you got lost in your wip and something didn’t work? How did you might it right again? Readers, have you read a book where the author went off on a different plot line than you had expected? Did the book recover it’s storyline?

1 Comment

Filed under writing

One response to “When Things Don’t Go Right

  1. talesfromthecrit

    I was just talking to Mama about this the other day. I have a story that started out, and no I am not making this up, as the first of three books that were occurring at the same time in the same place. The hero was an ATF agent pretending to be an IRS agent because of the heroine’s parents’ problems with the IRS. The heroine’s cousin was really an IRS agent pretending to be her cousin. The honeymooners at the hotel this story is set in are actually Maine state police detectives, and one of them is the hero’s sister. The photographer staying at the hotel is actually an arms dealer. The ghost hunters staying get possessed.

    No, I have no clue what I was thinking. Not all of these events were explained in detail in the first book but they all occurred, to be explained more fully in the other two books happening simultaneously. Obviously, it wasn’t hard to see what was wrong with this one. It was too complicated. So I’d cut a little and try again and it still didn’t work. So I’d cut a little more and it still didn’t work.

    Now, I’m down to the heroine without IRS hounded parents, who actually likes being an inn keeper. And a hero who used to be an ATF agent but now works as a true crime writer who wants to write a book about one of the MANY crimes this particular island is known for. Oh, my goodness. It’s like a whole new story, that actually makes sense.

    AJ

Leave a Reply

