We’ve Only Got Four Minutes to Save the World…

Am I the only one who feels like there has to be some story behind that song by Madonna and my boy, Justin? Four minutes to save the world from what? Why four minutes? Why not twenty-six minutes or two days? Every time I hear that song I feel like I should be inspired to come up with a story to match it. I haven’t yet but someday I think I will.

Do you ever hear a song that inspires you to write a story? Not a song that reminds you of a story that you already have, but one that sparks the imagination. This actual happens to me fairly frequently. Like this one. http://youtube.com/watch?v=Sgo6O63U4i8 I heard it one day and I thought, “What sort of woman is this? What kind of character would she be?” And the result was Helen Harding who turned out to be the heroine of my Birdwell, Texas mystery series. I appreciate Billy Joel for that.

Or this one. http://youtube.com/watch?v=F8rHJrXgm7Y I heard it on the radio and totally latched on to the second verse about the man who’d had the accident. Thus was born Evan Quinn, or just Quinn for the most part, a man who’d had a promising career as a race car driver and who now has a prosthetic leg and a job as a pharmacist that puts him in exactly the right position to solve a murder.

Or this one. http://youtube.com/watch?v=CQ7aXV6xm3w This song inspired my one and only straight category romance, aside from the Presents I just wrote. A story of a singer hero and a heroine who was married to him for one week when he was a nobody and now has his son to show for it even though she’s never bothered to tell him. But they don’t still get together like the people in the G.B. song do. In fact, they never speak at all.

Anyway, do you ever hear songs that tell you a story. Granted, it may be a story that has nothing whatsoever to do with the real story of the song. But it tells you a story none the less. Tell me about them. Pretty please.

AJ

7 Comments

Filed under AJ, misc., writing

7 responses to “We’ve Only Got Four Minutes to Save the World…

  1. Oh yes. hold on, there’s a peice of paper here somewhere…. oh right, that song about a lot of leavin’ left to do[country, of course]. Thought about the hero being part of a band crew, noticing a groupee and thinking, why do they always go for the star? He’s an idiot who is NOT about to settle down or get committed. That was it… it’s still on the burner, simmering.

    then, there’s Jake Owens’ Startin’ with Me… first line, I had a one night stand with my best friend’s baby sister. Definitely a story there.

    I’m not sure about the 4 minutes… i’ll have to listen to the song. Great blog.

  2. Good topic. I’m not sure if a song has ever totally inspired a story. But sometimes the lyrics of a song evoke such a strong feeling that I want to remember that feeling while I’m writing emotional scenes.

  3. Oh sure! Even those without words. My son love Edvard Grieg and we would make up stories to go with “The Hall of the Mountain King” etc.

    The movie Music and lyrics inspired me and I really like the song from there. (youtube? ah… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uVeMWlmKVSM&feature=related )

    I totally love that. Connie was partly inspired by Martha Jefferson as displayed in the play 1776. Well, Ok. Mrs. Jefferson isn’t a woman in men’s clothes, nor seeking father’s approval…but still. Her song in that is wonderful! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LDDlRWobbMo And yes, that is Blythe Danner, Gwyneth’s mom.

  4. Yes. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LDDlRWobbMo
    and

    I had a whole comment up, but it went poof. So here’s the gist. Connie, 1776.

    My kids like classical sometimes. My son’s faves are by Edvard Grieg. “Morning” and “Hall of the mountain king” we’d make up stories to act out while those played.

  5. Christine Morris

    There’s a Paul McCartney b-side that my husband swears every time I hear it I announce that I have to write that story. Someday I should.

  6. talesfromthecrit

    Yes, you should. If it has stuck with you for that long, Christine.

    Betty I’ve never heard either of those songs but they do sound like they’d make a good story.

    Chloe, the emotions are what I think give me the ideas, really. If there’s anything to take away from a good song I think that’s probably it.

    AJ

  7. talesfromthecrit

    They both showed up eventually, lol. Thanks Leigh.

    AJ

Leave a Reply

