Power driving

As a writer I know what it’s like to be swept up with the muses that time seems to melt away into a deep void, that being you avoiding it. But have you ever noticed if your writing is better or worse on those writing drives? Does it really pay to pull an all-nighter just to get� X-amount of pages?

Sadly I just woke up, don’t look at the post timer because it’s wrong, but I’ll tell you it’s 1:30am my time. Now for most anyone else this might seem odd, but I had pulled such muse-inspired write-a-thon and was up for nearly 36 hours. Yes you read that right, 36 hours. Now don’t get me wrong, that entire time was not spent writing, I could only wish it were.

But as webmistress of this site, which is in constant need of updates, and doing other side projects to get a few extra coins in the purse and writing like the devil, I have spurts of complete drive.

What is this you ask? Those who’ve had it know exactly what I’m talking about. For those that haven’t here’s a quick run-down: You sleep normally (being around 6-8 hours a day or night *hey some folks have night jobs so this is normal*) . For a “drive” you are tired but you’re mind is way too busy thinking of this or that to let you sleep. Or in some cases those pesky characters refuse to take a nap and insist you write a certain scene right this moment! So instead you do various things, generally dealing with this or that and thus forgetting about time all together.

Now having admitted that I just came off a 36 hour drive, I’ll admit I went to bed at 7pm last night. I was hoping for a crash that would allow me to get a good 10 hours of rest. Yeah right! Who am I trying to kid. I rolled over once and then sprang awake! Like magic after several cups of coffee, I was awake.

So here I am again, looking at my monitor, doing the various things I do online. Knowing it was my day to write a post I began to wonder, is the stuff I write during these drives actually worth it? As a writer who writes and leaves it, I can honestly say I don’t know yet. I do know there have been several posts made to this board during these drives and I’m still tossing the coin on if they were complete brain dribbles and mindless ramblings or if I actually made sense. Please don’t answer that one…I’ll judge for myself haha.

But this post was made after several hours of really good deep check-me-if-I’m-still-breathing kind of sleeps. And honestly, it sounds like mindless rambling to me haha. But I can’t judge on that alone, as all my posts while I’m typing them seem that way.

So my question is (and this includes readers as well, not just those writers who stop by):

Does you’re sleep/awake hours make much difference to your reading or writing? If you write, does what you’ve written during those all-nighters sound better that those fresh-start mornings? And as a reader, after an all-nighter (now admit it! I know you stayed up for at least one amazing read) do you have to back-track to refresh yourself on what you’ve read or the fresh from sleep readings stick in your mind better?

And I’m curious, how many other night owls do we have out there. I know many authors tend to be, as the house is quite–it’s just you and your WIP. Or readers who enjoy staying up all night just to finish that book.

So now I leave you…hope you rest well (or get some great writing/reading done).

1 Comment

Filed under writing

One response to “Power driving

  1. AJ

    If I don’t get enough sleep stuff doesn’t make sense to me anymore. So reading and writing are both pointless. However, I’m lucky enough not to need very much sleep. Five or six hours a night will leave me fresh as a daisy.

    AJ

Leave a Reply

