Adventures in Plotting

I usually write without much advance planning. I have a character in mind, an idea where I want to start and how I want to end, and then I freewheel my way from Point A (start) to Point B (end) trying not to get too tangled in rabbit trails along the way. It’s worked for me for a novella (Sorcha’s Heart) and two novels (Second Sight and Dragons’ Choice), but lately I’ve been itching to try plotting again.

Yep. I said again. I tried the fiendish tool back about the time I wrote the 1st draft of Second Sight. I did such an amazing job plotting Opening Her Eyes, that I never wrote the book. Why would I? I already knew everything that was going to happen! Needless to say, I’ve never used that particular system for plotting again. I’m sure it works wonders for some writers, but for me, it was a fiasco.

Having successfully avoided plotting for a couple of years, the time had come to get back on the horse. This time, in addition to my fabulous mentor’s advice, I relied on Holly Lisle’s expertise. Holly is my kind of writer. Seriously. Every time I’ve picked up one of her tools, it’s fit my hand like it was made for me. How cool is that? And plotting is no exception.

Her article on Notecarding: Plotting Under Pressure is awesome. Following her suggestions, I now have a workable plot with plenty of unexplored territory. I’m excited to write these scenes and discover where they lead me … on the way to the next notecard.

Okay. Enough procrastinating with my plot. It’s time to actually write the sucker! After all, when I finish I’ll get to use another of Holly’s tools in the polishing process. Her One-Pass Manuscript Revision absolutely ROCKS!!!!

I’ll let you know how it’s going next week…

3 Comments

Filed under writing

3 responses to “Adventures in Plotting

  1. talesfromthecrit

    I need some one pass manuscript revision. But I’m not good at plotting at all. I’m the same. If I already know what’s going to happen than I pretty much already wrote it, didn’t I. So no reason to write it now.

    AJ

  2. Seriously, Holly’s revision system is awesome! Check it out if you’re at that stage, AJ

  3. I’ll have to check out the notecard plotting tool. I like Holly’s advice too. (That manuscript revision saved my a%*). I generally do the whole hero’s journey outline thing, but it always changes as I go. After all, some of those unexpected twists are what make a story really fun to write, and to read. =D

Leave a Reply

