Shattering

Forgive me for the shortness of this post – I recently cracked open my copy of Stephanie Meyer’s TWILIGHT and my sleep and other activities have seen a severe time reduction. Good book. I’m still on the fence as to whether the sexual tension in YA romance makes them more intriguing reads or more frustrating reads – for me – than adult romance. Another week maybe.

AJ’s post yesterday has me thinking about the shattering point. She mentioned pushing characters to the edge, but not past it, and I found myself agreeing. The few books I’ve read that have the characters pushed to shattering point (China Mieville’s PERDIDO STREET STATION comes immediately to mind, along with the movie LEGENDS OF THE FALL) have left me discontent and frankly viewing the story as one I admired but won’t revisit. Not keepers for me. The shattering of a character brings a failure on a heroic level to a story – takes the heroic act away from the hero, takes the “saving” part of “love saves” away from me. Sure, it’s a powerful emotional event but it takes the story outside the boundaries of where I wanted it to be. What about you? Do you revisit shatter stories?

(Really apologize for the abruptness of this week’s post – my hair is wet, my clothes are still in my closet, and I’m running late for my dayjob. See you in comments!)

2 Comments

Filed under Emily, writing

2 responses to “Shattering

  1. I know what you mean about those “shattering” moments, the instant when all the scales fall from a character’s eyes and they understand the horror and magnitude of what’s happening. Those are indeed powerful and evocative scenes because when they’re well-executed, readers shatter along with the character they’ve grown to love…

  2. talesfromthecrit

    I personally don’t revisit them either. They may be powerful, and often are but then I just feel scarred. Usually I end up wishing that I could unread a book like that.

    AJ

Leave a Reply

