Goals, yes goals.

So, I’m going to be honest here.  On the scale that a normal person might use in deciding how organized and goals driven a person is, I don’t even rank on that chart.  I have the goal making and keeping ability of a slice of wheat bread.  Any goals I ever have made (a very small list all made under duress) can be depended upon to never be met.

Why is this?  Mostly it’s because I’m a lazy bum.  But also it’s because goal making makes me feel oppressed.  Like the time I fell down on the benches at Circus, Circus in Vegas and a fat lady sat on me.  That kind of oppressed.  I don’t know why I rail so much as the convention of planning things out but I sure do.  For my writing career this has thus far been the kiss of death.  I just can’t bring myself to concentrate enough to submit as much as I should, or edit as much as I should, or do anything but write as much as I should.

So I’ve tried all these plans for easy goal making which be so cool if I bothered to keep them.  Making them isn’t the problem.  In my head I know what I should be doing.  Beyond knowing I should be doing, however, is where things get sticky. Because that’s always been a problem for me.  When I was a kid I knew I should be doing my homework but, you know, other things were just more interesting.

So my new goal is going to be to keep some goals.  We’ll see how that works out.  I’m personally not holding my breath.  (Because holding my breath requires concentration.)

AJ

7 Comments

Filed under AJ, goals, writing

7 responses to “Goals, yes goals.

  1. I say set some anyway, AJ. I love setting goals. Do I always achieve them? Sometimes, sometimes I change them and sometimes I conveniently ignore them. 🙂

  2. AJ, I have a picture up in my office that says “Nothing Happens Without a Dream.” So start with your dream. Then what do you have to do to go after that dream? Maybe if you don’t call it a “Goal” but maybe just going after your dream will make you feel less oppressed and more excited. Good Luck.

    Natasha

  3. I know what you mean AJ. Everyone thinks I’m so organized, but I’m about the furthest thing from it. Good luck, you can make it happen!

  4. Christine Morris

    A soon as I have a goal, I’m procrastinating. It’s a vicious cycle. I wish I could be one of those 5 year plan people, but I’m working on the 5 minute plan right now and it ain’t doing so good.

  5. The plans of mice and men often go astray. That’s what my mom always says cuz I have a hard time staying organized and my goals always change. Having three little boys who just don’t understand what I’m doing isn’t much help to a writer. Anyways, set goals but be flexible and ready to change them. That way, you’ll still feel like you’re acomplishing something.

  6. talesfromthecrit

    LOL, Christine, I’m on the same plan and it isn’t working out so well either.

    AJ

  7. Inez kelley

    I just want to survive at this point. I should make better goals but I just end up putting my head down and plowing ahead, forgetting to look up a lot.

Leave a Reply

