Celebrate! Celebrate!

I finished the first draft of The Silver Casket over the weekend!! Woo Hoo!!

Reaching “The End” has got to be one of the most satisfying experiences in the world of writing. *happy sigh*

Last night I began the next step: revision and polishing. I’ve read about 2/3 of the manuscript and am thrilled to say (drum roll, please!) … I like it!! *sigh of relief*

As I make this revision / polishing pass, I’ll be using a technique I learned from Holly Lisle’s excellent website. If you haven’t visited this one, check it out. She’s got a lot of great information posted. The one I’m using at the moment is her article on “One-Pass Manuscript Revision.” I used this system with Faery Unexpected and absolutely loved it.

Wish me luck! I’m hoping to have this one out to my beta readers by Friday. We’re babysitting grandkids and grand-pups over the weekend, so writing time will be negligible. BUT if my manuscript is in the hands of my readers, I’ll be able to tell myself I’m making progress nonetheless! *lol*

So…when your first draft is complete, what’s your favorite method for polishing your story until it sparkles?

2 Comments

Filed under writing

2 responses to “Celebrate! Celebrate!

  1. talesfromthecrit

    Oh great! Isn’t that the best feeling? I love to finish things. But I don’t like revision so much. Good luck on that.

    AJ

  2. I don’t mind doing my own, second pass revision. It’s trying to understand someone else’s vision of *my* story that’s hard for me…

Leave a Reply

