NaNoWri…No

Greetings.  I missed last week.  I guess I just forgot.  But since this is my blog I’m probably not going to get kicked off.  😉  We just started (full) week two of NaNoWriMo.  I had this idea in my head that I was having a lot of trouble this year.  That it was so much easier last year.  But then I found a post on one of my personal blogs called NaNoWri…No.  It was fairly early on last year when I wrote that post but it shows me that I’d forgotten how much I regretted getting into this literary mess last year too, lol.

Much like childbirth, I seem to have forgotten the pain involved in the last time one of these things came out.  In a way it helps to see that it wasn’t as rosy as I seem to remember it being the last time around.  I am now ten days in and have just managed to start to understand my characters and their real motivations, as opposed to the ones they immediately put forth to strangers and the like.  And hey, it only took me fifteen thousand words.  A mere pittance.

Next year I swear I’m going to remember that this is never easy, no matter how rosy it seemed last time.

AJ

6 Comments

Filed under AJ, writing

6 responses to “NaNoWri…No

  1. Inez Kelley

    I don’t Nano. I Zano. (IneZano, *snickering to myself* at least one person finds me funny!)

    I write at my own pace and seem to be just fine. If it works for you and others, and it really seems to, then great, more power to you! It just scares me. Too much pressure. I get enough of that from real life.

  2. mamadivine

    I can’t NaNo like I used to. Back in the day, I would semi- ignore my family so I could make my daily goals. I can’t semi-ignore them now. Not sure if the guilt of feeding the kids pasta and cheese for three days straight got to me or if I don’t need the rush NaNo can bring. Whatever the reason, I can’t commit to NaNo like I used to.

  3. briaq

    I had that feeling last month fast drafting.

    Nano is ‘eh’ — of course, I’m writing the least funny rom com in history since Jack Lemmon and Shirley Maclaine made The Apartment. No one tries to kill themselves and call it funny

  4. briaq

    I had that feeling last month fast drafting.

    Nano is ‘eh’ — of course, I’m writing the least funny rom com in history since Jack Lemmon and Shirley Maclaine made The Apartment. No one tries to kill themselves and call it funny

  5. talesfromthecrit

    That’s how I felt about my rom/com last year. It wasn’t much rom or com. And I think it turned out okay in the end. This one I can’t say for sure. Both my characters are kind of insane. But not in a really funny way. Of course, not in a “I’m trying to kill myself” way either.

  6. talesfromthecrit

    Huh. I don’t find NaNo any pressure at all. If anything I find myself grouching because I’m just slapping crap in the file.

    I do like the everybody-writing-at-once energy. Even if I don’t do it the same way I did the first year, I’m still enjoying the energy.

    Em

Leave a Reply

