NaNo: The Pain Continues

Guess what? It’s still November. Sigh. I’m still caught in NaNoHell.

What was I thinking? How could I have possibly thought my plot line had enough going on to sustain an entire book? What had I been drinking that those characters seemed remotely interesting?

Whine, whine, whine…

Yep. I’ve reached the middle of the second week of NaNoWriMo. My ideas have soured, my muse has skipped town, and I haven’t a clue what’s supposed to happen next. My book is right on schedule.

Fortunately, I’m an old hand at this misery. This is my fifth NaNoWriMo and experience tells me to suck it up and apply BICHOK (Butt In Chair Hands On Keyboard). This is the week I’m convinced my writing is worthless drivel…and I’m doing it anyway.

After all, NaNo’s theme is “Dare to Write Bad!” Hey! I’m doing that!

This is the week when I force myself to write without allowing myself to edit…or even re-read. By next week, I’ll have hit my stride. At least, that’s what I’m telling myself.

Nice to know others are suffering with me…and the cool thing about writers? We’re genetically incapable of suffering in silence. When we whine, we do it with *style*

7 Comments

Filed under writing

7 responses to “NaNo: The Pain Continues

  1. You can do it, Debbie! lol You’re at the same wordcount point as me. I’m really pedaling hard for 20k, but for some reason it’s like going uphill in eleventieth gear. 🙂

    Whew!

  2. talesfromthecrit

    I hear you, Emily! I swear, this is the hardest NaNo I’ve done…except I think I say that every year about this time *LOL*

    —Debbie

  3. Are your characters saying really inane things too? And having the same conversation over and over again? LOL

    From experience, I know that’s when I’ve stopped pushing forward in plot and have hit a stand-still despite the climbing word count. I’m trying not to let them talk to each other and make them talk to people outside the relationship. It’s not working too well. 🙂

  4. talesfromthecrit

    I keep replying and not signing my name. bad me! – Em

  5. talesfromthecrit

    I’m not doing so well either truth be told. I’m in the 17’s as well. It just seems to not be coming. Like I have nothing to say. Sigh.

    AJ

  6. Okay…so the three of us need to wrest control of our stories away from our characters. Who’s the goddess in this universe anyway? *lol*

    Now, if I could just find my AWOL muse…

  7. briaq

    Dare to write bad doesn’t begin to explain it

    Dare to write googly-gook is actually what I’m aiming for

Leave a Reply

