Character Personality (another lame post title)

In the process of reworking my current WIP, I’ve had to rework the heroine and hero too.  The heroine needed her mean streak and hostility more defined and demonstrated in a way that fit her personality.  The hero needed to leap from one-dimensional to three.  In the original story, he’s like a life-size cardboard cutouts that gets moved from scene to scene.  He had some personality, but no depth.

I did some brainstorming about him, trying to figure out what motivates him.  Came up with some stuff, but still felt he was a little fuzzy around the edges.  So had this idea to use the letters from his name to come up with words and/or phrases that fit his personality.

Here’s what I came up with for the heroine and hero:

Heroine:
Needs closure
Anger issues
Terrified of being vulnerable
Anti-social
Limits emotional contact with others
Independent
Estranged from family

Hero:
Can’t stand profane language
Hero complex
Romantically inclined
Insistent
Seeks out challenging relationships
Tease
Obnoxious
Patient
Has trouble committing to long term relationships
Easy going
Reliable

This helped unfuzz my hero’s edges.  I have a better picture of him now and can see him in all his three-dimensional hotness.

I challenge you to try this with your characters and post in the comments section.

Also, I know there’s a name for this.  If you know what it is, please post it.  Thanks.

8 Comments

Filed under Kimberly, writing

8 responses to “Character Personality (another lame post title)

  1. The nearest I can think of it, it’s a type of “Free Association”.

    Here’s what I came up with, for my characters, btw:

    Evading the truth about her marriage
    Manipulated by her ex
    Interested in the obscure
    Looking for a requited love
    Yearning for a connection

    Dashing in an old-fashioned sort of way
    Afraid of making his father’s mistakes
    Vexed by the vapidity of modern women
    Intelligent (alternatively, this could be Isolated)
    Daring enough to fall in love at first sight
    Embittered by his past relationship

    An interesting exercise, I must say. 😉

    Ciao!

  2. briaq

    I’m so stealing this…If I can finish mine 🙂

    Boyishly handsome
    Royalty
    Emotionally driven
    Nice calves (so says kimberly)
    Not stopping at the logical lines
    Insistant on what’s best for his people
    Devestated by her

    Forced to confront herself
    Annoyed at him constantly 🙂
    Emotionally torn
    Logically driven
    Always looking for more

  3. inezkelley

    How cool!

    C-harisma
    A-ccident-prone
    R-omantic
    L-oves but afraid to admit
    Y-earns for what she thinks she can’t have

    J-ustifying his life
    E-motionally scarred
    S-cared
    S-exy as hell
    E-xtreme sports enthusiast

  4. talesfromthecrit

    This is so cool. I don’t have time to participate right now. But I just wanted to let you know that I approve. 😉

    AJ

  5. I approve too! I need to link this post somewhere prominent so I can find it again.

    And I need to come back to it as soon as I finish my draft 😀

  6. This is a great idea for character development — and fun, too, which always help. I’m going to try it!

  7. talesfromthecrit

    S-mart
    I-llusionist and escape artist
    M-emory deficient
    O-nly crazy sometimes 😉
    N-Never gives up

    A-nal retentive
    N-aturally defiant
    D-ecided to be rigid in everything
    I-nnovative

    This was hard. Especially some of the weirder letters, like O. Fun exercise.

  8. Estelle

    L-acking job experience
    A-lone and forced to take care of herself
    C-harismatic
    E-ager to prove she can be independent
    Y-earns to go back to her old life

    R-esponsible
    O-pinionated
    S-exy
    S-heriff

Leave a Reply

