Thursday 13: Romance Words on SATs

Yeah, so I am late. Ooops. I semi-sorta forgot today was Thursday. This stay at home writer stuff blurs the days of the week for me a bit. I get so wrapped up in my writing, outside life ceases to exist at times. It is a good and a bad thing. The writing is going good, strong and progressing, the laundry, not so much. I prefer words to folding.

Here’s something to consider: Girls who read romance novels score higher on SAT Vocabulary sections. Good to know.

So here is my Thursday 13:


WORDS I LEARNED FROM READING ROMANCE NOVELS



13) amatory \AM-uh-tor-ee; -tohr-\, adjective:
of love; expressing love, especially sexual

12) turgid \TUR-jid\, adjective:
1. Swollen, bloated, puffed up; as, “a turgid limb.”
2. Swelling in style or language; bombastic, pompous; as, “a turgid style of speaking.”

11) limn (lĭm)  Pronunciation Key
tr.v.   limned, limn•ing (lĭm’nĭng), limns

1. To describe.
2. To depict by painting or drawing. See Synonyms at represent.

[Middle English limnen, to illuminate (a manuscript), probably alteration (influenced by limnour, illustrator) of luminen, from Old French luminer, from Latin lūmināre, to illuminate, adorn, from lūmen, lūmin-, light; see leuk- in Indo-European roots.]
limn’er (lĭm’nər) n.

10) paladin \PAL-uh-din\, noun:
1. A knight-errant; a distinguished champion of a medieval king or prince; as, the paladins of Charlemagne.
2. A champion of a cause.

9) voluptuary \vuh-LUHP-choo-er-ee\, noun:
1. A person devoted to luxury and the gratification of sensual appetites; a sensualist.
adjective:
1. Voluptuous; luxurious.

8 ) ingenue \AN-zhuh-noo\, noun:
1. A naive girl or young woman.
2. An actress playing such a person; also: the stage role of an ingenue.

7) pukka \PUHK-uh\, adjective:
1. Authentic; genuine.
2. Good of its kind; first-class.

6) excoriate \ek-SKOR-ee-ayt\, transitive verb:
1. To express strong disapproval of; to denounce.
2. To tear or wear off the skin of.

5) satiety \suh-TY-uh-tee\, noun:
The state of being full or gratified to or beyond the point of satisfaction.

4) camarilla \kam-uh-RIL-uh; -REE-yuh\, noun:
A group of secret and often scheming advisers, as of a king; a cabal or clique.

3) empyrean \em-py-REE-uhn; -PEER-ee-\, noun:
1. The highest heaven, in ancient belief usually thought to be a realm of pure fire or light.
2. Heaven; paradise.
3. The heavens; the sky.
adjective:
1. Of or pertaining to the empyrean of ancient belief.

2) mellifluous \muh-LIF-loo-us\, adjective:
Flowing as with honey; smooth; flowing sweetly or smoothly; as, a mellifluous voice.
1) schadenfreude \SHOD-n-froy-duh\, noun:
A malicious satisfaction obtained from the misfortunes of others.

FREEBIE!!

philter \FIL-tur\, noun:
1. A potion or charm supposed to cause the person taking it to fall in love.
2. A potion or charm believed to have magic power.
transitive verb:
1. To enchant or bewitch with or as if with a magic potion or charm.

11 Comments

Filed under Humor, Inez, misc., rambling

11 responses to “Thursday 13: Romance Words on SATs

  1. Ummm … should I admit I know and use only about half of them. Nope, not going to admit it. Ignore the first sentence.

    Happy T13!

  2. Ya know, I honestly don’t think I’ve used any of those words except paladin. LOL Great list! Happy Thursday! 🙂 *hugs*

  3. I always love new words, no matter where I’ve learned ’em… But I did indeed know almost all of these already.

    Then again, I spend an awful lot of time on freerice.com, too. 😉

    Ciao!
    Happy TT!

  4. Some of these are new to me, including pukka, which I thought meant something else.

  5. I didn’t know a lot of those! LOL!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://tinyurl.com/4zejcp

  6. Love new words. Thanks for the list. Happy T13!

  7. Wow, the things you learn by reading romance. 😉
    An interesting selection.

  8. Excellent list – and people think romance is just fluff! :]

  9. See? Reading a romance novel can be quite an educational activity. 😉

  10. Jen

    I know most of those actually. LOL. My favorite word I learned from a romance novel is “Faux Pax” which I gave its phonetic sound until I knew it was French and the x was silent. LOL.
    Funny, though, I kind of knew what it meant from its context.

  11. I’ll admit it. I think I’ve used two or three of those words, and none of them in my writing.

    Great list. Happy TT!

Leave a Reply

