Writing Software

Do you ever use software.  I have Liquid Story Binder and HEALaDOC.  I can’t figure Liquid Story Binder the heck out.  It’s really weird.  The only thing I like them for is there character dossiers.  I tried to get one to print here but I can’t seem to.  They’re very cool though.  Complete with a place for a pic and all those questions you end up making seperate sheets to answer.

I have no freaking clue what it’s actually supposed to be used for.  I have a general idea that it’s supposed to help you organize your story but I can’t make it work.  Anyone else got LSB?  If you do, how do you make it work.  Because I asked four other writers I know who have it and they have no clue how to work it either. We all just sat there like idiots admitting we didn’t have a clue how to use our own fifty dollar software.  So if you’ve got any insight let her rip.

HEALaDOC, on the other hand, is a great investment, a cheaper one too, in my opinion.  You put in your MS.  It tells you how many times words occur and then builds a chart so you can see where in the doc the words occur and if you click on the chart it will take you to that spot so you can fix it.  It also isolates cliches and overused phrases, if you have a favorite.

They do seperate things.  They are for different stages in the process.  Liquid Story Binder is for the plotting stage and HEALaDOC is for editing.  Maybe I value the latter because I’m not a very good plotter.  But I think mostly it’s just because I can’t get the former to freaking work.

Anyone mastered the mysterious powers of Liquid Story Binder?  Let me in on the secret please.

AJ

2 Comments

Filed under writing

2 responses to “Writing Software

  1. thesunlitdesk

    AJ, it’s not you. LSB has had rave reviews and I can’t really figure out why. It’s probably a great program if you have time to sit down and work it out, but I just want to write.

  2. It does take time to get used to, but I find it very flexible. Here’s my tutorial if you are interested.

    http://notenoughwords.wordpress.com/2009/10/24/liquid-story-binder-tutorial-part-1-setting-up-for-brainstorming

Leave a Reply

