So You Wanna Be In The Movies

I just finished reading Truman Capote’s novella, Breakfast At Tiffany’s.  Wonderful story.  This got me thinking about books/stories made into film.  And would I want my stories made into a movie.

Who wouldn’t want to see their stories on the big screen or on television?  See their characters in the flesh?  This is a side dream of many writers.  Me included, but after reading the story the 1961 film is based on, I’m not so sure anymore.

I saw the movie version of Breakfast At Tiffany’s years ago and enjoy it.  I was surprised though at how different the movie was from the book.  The Holly Golightly of the book isn’t the Holly Golightly immortalized by Audrey Hepburn in 1961.    I’d say the book and movie are more like distant cousins than sisters.  You can see the resemblance if you look hard and long enough.

I fear the film version wouldn’t resemble the story I wrote.  We write our stories with certain things in mind.  Like our characters’ physical appearance, setting, our characters’ motivations, and tone.  Altering one or some of these things can change an epic love story into a political drama.

Would I refuse an offer to make one of my stories a movie?  Probably not.  I’m not crazy.  But I couldn’t help worrying that I wouldn’t recognize my story or my characters in the film version.

So…

(1) Would you want your story/stories made into film?  Why or why not?

(2) Any other movies you felt differed from the book it was based on?

(3) If you read and saw Breakfast At Tiffany’s, what are your thoughts on the versions?

3 Comments

Filed under Kimberly, movies, writing

3 responses to “So You Wanna Be In The Movies

  1. It might be difficult to have my stuff made into movies. They tend to be explicitly erotic. They also tend to have plots. So the straight movie makers won’t take them as they don’t generally make erotic movies. And the erotic movie makers won’t take them as they generally don’t make movies with plots.

    Sigh. Always caught in between. 😉

    Most of the movies I’ve seen that were made from books are generally not as good as the books. Hollywood isn’t fond of nuance or rich emotion. So their attempts to translate books tend to fail.

    The only exception to this is ‘Jaws’. The movie was much better. The book was one of the worst I’d ever read.

  2. talesfromthecrit

    I would totally go for my books being made into movies even if it didn’t work. My vanity is so not bigger than that paycheck.

    Breakfast at Tiffany’s, I haven’t seen it in years mind, was the most bizarre movie. I totally didn’t get it and I don’t know if it’s because I lack sophistication or what but it just went right over my head.

    Most of the movies books are made from are so much better that it would be impossible to pick just one that turned out worse on celluloid. The only reversal I can think of that rule was the novel Practical Magic which almost made me weep tears of injustice that I spent two freaking days I would never get back, reading it. However, that is one of my favorite movies in the world. Whoever read that lame duck book and saw that movie in it is a freaking genius IMO.

    AJ

  3. I don’t know…aside from the paycheck thing, it would be kind of interesting to see how someone else interpreted my story. Of course, if they killed it as badly as they did Ursula LeGuin’s story, I might be sorry I accepted said paycheck.

Leave a Reply

