When The Threads Break

As a reader, I’m willing to believe just about anything.  But there are some things I have a hard time believing because it doesn’t make sense to me.  Or the situation doesn’t seem plausible.

Like in Van Helsing.  Kate Beckinsale’s character is a butt kicking, weapon wielding demon/monster huntress.  She comes off as fearless and a fighter to the end.  But in this one scene, when she’s face to face with some vampires, her kick buttness disappears– POOF!  And she’s about to get bitten.  I was like, Huh?     But being There’s A Reason For Everything Kim, I said, vampires must paralyze their victims before biting them so they don’t move.  I could buy that so I kept on with the movie.

Then something happened that I couldn’t justify and a few of the threads suspending my belief snapped.  Kate Beckinsale’s character and Hugh Jackman’s fall through the earth.  Not to the center, but a couple stories.  I’m expecting bumps, bruises and dirt covered bodies.   I get those.   And Kate’s hair looking like she just got out of the beautician’s chair.  Her curls were untouched.   Perfect.   I couldn’t justify that.  So for the rest of the movie, I was in a state of half belief.

So what snaps the threads suspending your belief?    Do you keep reading/watching if you can’t  believe anymore?

3 Comments

Filed under Kimberly, movies

3 responses to “When The Threads Break

  1. inezkelley

    I CANNOT watch Clash of the Titans. Hated it.The mythology is wrong. WRONG! Example, the hero rides Pegasus to kill Medusa. Uhm, Pegasus was born FROM Medusa’s blood after she was killed. Idiots. If you can’t research a movie, don’t make it. geeesh.

  2. talesfromthecrit

    I’m sure they did research it. They’re just using creative license. This is movie speak for, “We can do anything we want because we’re Hollywood.”

    I hate that too, Mama. People who get shot, or stabbed, or run over by a steam roller, and come back up looking gorgeous, just slightly bloody.

    AJ

  3. Shawna

    I remember it like it was yesterday. My mom’s boyfriend took all of us to our first movie in an actual theater (drive ins were the thing back then and we were poor) The movie was Clash of the Titans and even as a child, I loved mythology. Imagine my chagrin, when I had to sit through the entire movie biting my tongue to keep me from shouting, “No! That’s wrong! You’ve ruined it!” Not only would it have disrupted the other guests, but my mother’s new boyfriend would have undoubtedly been horrified.

    More recently, the thread that snapped and did in a readable series was Bella’s pregnancy in the last book. Vampire. Not alive. Viable sperm? Um… no.

Leave a Reply

