Had Any R’s That Were Blessings?

I started my week with a rejection of a novella I’d had high hopes for. Sigh. Unfortunately, the publisher has had bad experiences with writers when they give reasons for the rejection, so their standard practice is now the dreaded form letter. Double Sigh. My novella was rejected, but I don’t have a clue as to the reason.

Not being one to accept a lack of information gracefully, I contacted a respected writerly friend and asked if she’d read the novella and give me her thoughts. Obviously, her thoughts wouldn’t be the editor’s thoughts, but they’d give me a starting point nonetheless.

What a good decision! My friend pointed out a major flaw and gave me enough feedback to get the muse started on the fix. I now have a new focus for the story and a renewed excitement for the project. Of course, that’s the real kicker…it’s now back to project status…no longer a completed manuscript to be submitted to markets… BUT the good news is the story will be tighter, stronger, and more focused than before.

So, while I’m not happy to have been rejected, I am thrilled to have the chance to improve my work and learn new lessons about the craft of writing.

Onward and upward!!

2 Comments

Filed under writing

2 responses to “Had Any R’s That Were Blessings?

  1. Shawna

    You are so lucky to have a writerly friend to give advice in times like that. A huge blessing! I don’t know what I’d do without my fiance, who is also a writer… probably spin a lot of wheels.

    I know it’s frustrating to change the status or your work from ‘done’, to ‘in progress’ but next time, you might not get a rejection.

    Good luck.

  2. Thanks for the comment, Shawna!

    Yep. Definitely lucky in my writer friends. They’ve helped me dig myself out of some amazing plot holes *LOL*

    I’m actually looking forward to this rewrite. I’m jazzed by the possibilities!

Leave a Reply

