What Would You Do For Love?

I was brainstorming a story and listening to the radio while driving the kids around.  Meatloaf’s I Would Do Anything For Love (But I Won’t Do That) came on.  I changed the station, but the song got me thinking about my character and what I would do for them.

So far I have gotten in touch with my inner sailor for the heroine of my current wip because she drops the f-word like it’s a hot potato.  For another heroine I have half choreographed an exotic dance to a Britney Sprears’ song.  There’s a ship’s mast and some other props involved.   I have written cheesy couplets for a secondary character to sing.  I have learned pirate speak.   For a future wip I will take up the piano again and write a sappy love song.

So what about you?  What would you do for your characters?  What have you done?

5 Comments

Filed under Kimberly, writing

5 responses to “What Would You Do For Love?

  1. Walking into a bakery cold turkey and asked the owners if I could take a fast tour then proceeded to ask some embarrassing questions about the use of baked goods and foreplay.

    Felt up two cops (thank God they were good sports)

    Made my husband order a stripper video so I could learn some of the movements for pole dancers

    Learned how to change the oil in a truck I can’t drive.

    I will be driving over an hour just to interview a gentleman at a school for the blind

  2. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Elaina

    http://www.craigslistpostingtools.info

  3. I took strippercize so one of my characters new how to strip 😀

    Your post is like mine today (somewhat) but I’m talking about what we do for real life love interests! 😀

  4. For my characters, I have:

    Improved my Italian (living in Italy wasn’t even enough motivation!).

    Researched hysterectomy scars, which meant viewing lots of scary photos, btw.

    Studied the layout of the University of Bologna.

    Spent hours trying to find the name of a particular architectural feature (the quatrefoil).

    Researched Venetian homes (via real-estate sites), as well as properties in Rovigo, Italy.

    It doesn’t sound like much, but trust me, it was a lot of work – and this is only the tangible stuff!

    Ciao!

  5. C.

    Speant hours studying the topography of the Black Hills and researching Lakota legends, especially those involving the Mayashehchan (coyote)

Leave a Reply

