Thoughts on the Rainforest

I had the blessing of a writers retreat last week.

Now, you might ask why I needed a retreat? After all, I’m currently unemployed. I have lots of time to write. Why spend the money (in this case accept the scholarship!) and drive several hours just to do what I can already do in the comfort of my own home?

There are several answers to that question.

1. Inspiration. A change of pace is always good, and the inspiration provided by the beauties of nature can’t be discounted.

2. Lack of Technology. No cell phones. No telephones (except the pay phone in the gift shop). Only one room with Internet access. Technology rocks, but occassionally it’s good to get away from it…good to remove the temptation to spend hours surfing the net or chatting with instantly accessible friends. A bit of silence is truly golden.

3. Treating my muse to the creative energy of dozens of writers all focused on their own work. An amazing thing happens when you get several writers in a single room at the same time, all concentrating on their own stories. The energy is infectious. Your fingers itch and your muse howls to be released. It’s a cyclone of creativity that can’t be replicated in your office or den…unless you’re lucky enough to having writing buddies who gather at your home once a week *g*

I had a fabulous retreat. There were times when I would’ve been more comfortable at home (d*&# arthritic knee and lower back), but I wouldn’t have missed the experience for the world. I met amazing published SFF writers and enjoyed great craft discussions. I met fabulous, energetic not-yet-pubbed writers who have awesome stories to tell, and I enjoyed the beauties of Lake Quinault.

What’s not to like?

2 Comments

Filed under writing

2 responses to “Thoughts on the Rainforest

  1. aj

    That sounds really cool. We don’t believe in water here so there’s no lake to go to LOL but the RWA chapter here participates in a writer’s retreat in Red River, NM every year. I’ve yet to be able to make it in two years but you make me interested to try. Sounds like a good time.

  2. Go for it, AJ. You’ll be glad you did. Really!!

Leave a Reply

