Story Boarding without the Board

I’ve heard numerous recommendations for white boards, bulletin boards, note cards and sticky notes for plotting a novel. Systems where you can list your chapters and scenes and then move them around at will. They always sound fabulous until I get home and try to implement them.

That’s when I run up against two fatal flaws:
1. space constraints – I don’t have any place to mount the size board I’d need to deal with a novel in linear fashion (and I’m a very linear person)
2. these are pen and ink functions…and I detest writing by hand.

Sigh.

This week, as I’ve been contemplating the revisions my agent requested for Faery Unexpected, I found an answer to my dilemma. Virtual Post-it Notes. Seriously. I think I’m in love! I outlined the book, transferred the chapter titles and scene summaries onto color-coded virtual stickies that I arranged on a cyber-bulletin board. Now I can rearrange things as I rewrite, and I’ll know how to restructure the corresponding text when I’m all done. Too cool!! I’m on a 30-day free trial, but I’m pretty sure I’m hooked!

Warning: If you try this program, be aware–they’re very annoying at first. They pop-up everywhere and are just in the way. Sheesh! I thought I’d have to delete the program before I got started, but I stuck to it (haha…no pun intended) and tamed the little monsters. Once domesticated, they’re AWESOME!!

Okay. I’m now returning to my previously scheduled revisions.

5 Comments

Filed under writing

5 responses to “Story Boarding without the Board

  1. talesfromthecrit

    Okay, I downloaded them and I’m making a stab at organization. I’m going to try storyboarding certain parts of book three too. 🙂

  2. Good luck! I hope they work as well for you as they do for me.

  3. talesfromthecrit

    Well, so far they’ve been useful but it’s only day one.

  4. LOL – If you’ve managed to domesticate them on Day 1, you’re ahead of me!

  5. talesfromthecrit

    Ha. I have this really involved story, as above mentioned, and I opened three boards, one for each part of the book, some of which overlap in various locations. So I’m really hoping it will do me some good.

Leave a Reply

