Thursday 13: the TBR pile decreases

Granted, I don’t get as much time to read as much as I like anymore. I have my own work to do and payback commitments to honor. (I swear AJ, I will get those last chapters crits up soon) But here are 13 books I HAVE read since January 1.

13) What a Scroundal Wants by Carrie Lofty Love Will Scarlet but this was…okay.

12) Lord Sin by Kalen Hughes Not my normal favorite time period but the story sounded really exciting. Uhm, not so much.

11) The Tennis Partner by Abraham Verghese Wow. Doctors and drug addiction at a stark and frank level, very good read.

10) Touched by Love by Tracy Garrett Surprisingly, a solid satisfying read for me, and I am not western happy.

9) Outlaw Love –  Brenda Joyce anthology. Liked some better than others. I wanted Heaven with a Gun to be a longer story. I liked that one best of all.

8 ) Twilight by Stephanie Meyers Maybe I am jaded by adult vampire romances. The story was very very intriguing but Bella needs to go spine shopping.

7) Handyman by Claire Thompson I really enjoyed this one. I liked the emotional evaluation of her men. They were more in their head than in their pants

6) Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen GO BUY THIS BOOK. NOW.

5) The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini – very moving, very slow but worth the time
4) The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows – Excellent book

3) Crash into Me by Jill Sorenson Good, not difficult to figure out but the relationships were solid and very believable

2) BUTTERFLY SWORDS   by Jeannie Lin – no book link because it has not been published yet but I read this as a beta read. She just finaled in the Golden Heart contest and  I will say I knew her when!!

1) The Mercedes Coffin by Faye Kellerman Gripping and oh so compelling. *sigh* I love that series.

16 Comments

Filed under Inez, reading, Relax with a book!

16 responses to “Thursday 13: the TBR pile decreases

  1. Great list. I haven’t read any of those yet. But I see a few which are on my “to check out and see if I’d like to read them” list. I should probably go back and add links for mine.

  2. Keep on reading! LOL!

    And remember – “Literary” is not a dirty word. 😉 I’m glad you liked “Kite Runner”, and I’m totally with you on “Twilight.” It’s not a bad story, but it could have used a little more work. Or more to the point, Bella could have used a little more work.

    And yet, I read the whole series. Go figure…

    Happy TT!
    Ciao!

  3. Lesa

    Water for Elephants… You’re welcome.

    <>
    Chuck

  4. Shawna

    I felt the same way about Kite Runner. Ditto on Twilight. I’ve been meaning to read Water for Elephants, you’ve inspired me! Thanks.

  5. Interesting list!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://tinyurl.com/4zejcp

  6. I’ve learned the hard way to never read books set in the Medieval period, even if written by an author I love. Either I find it unrealistic or unpleasant.

  7. Always interesting to hear thoughts on “Twilight”. I’m have way through the series and really enjoying it. Kite Runner? I keep “wanting” to like this. I’m about 3 chapters from the end. Slow is a good description.

    http://tinyurl.com/78krdt

  8. Great list. I love Twilight. I wasn’t thrilled about Breaking Dawn, but I LOVED the first three. Happy Thursday! *hugs*

  9. I was a bit like that about Twilight. I enjoyed it but I’m not racing out to read the rest. I’m picky with my vampires.

    I like Claire Thompson’s books too, although I haven’t read Handyman yet.

  10. I liked the Twilight series okay, except the last book–I felt let down with the ending. Also loved Guernsey–it was one of my favorite reads of 2008. I have Kite Runner and Water for Elephants in my TBR pile but simply have not got to them yet. Too many books, definitely not enough hours to read them all!

  11. I’m finally reading Twilight, so I’m undecided on that one at the moment. Some moments I like Bella and other moments, eh, oh well. I haven’t read any of the others. Sigh. So many book, so little time. 🙂
    Happy TT. My 13

  12. Ha! “Bella need to go spine shopping.” But then she’d trip in the spine store and tear open a vein, and then where would we be?

  13. I hate to admit this, but I’ve read ONE book so far this year. That’s it.

  14. At first, I thought, hey, I’ve only read a few books this year. But then I realized I’ve actually read a lot. I’ve read the entire Twilight series, a few JD Robb’s, and I read a few YA to study up on the genre. I still have abut 40 books from the library I need to read though. Oops.

  15. Janice Seagraves

    Hi Inez,

    Sorry I’m so late answering back, but I had a terrible day yesterday.

    I heard that about Bela (from Twightlight), I still haven’t read it. Vampires that sparkle in the sunlight sound pretty silly to me.

    Happy TT.
    Janice~

  16. I saw Twilight but haven’t read the book. Bad Lauren!

    I don’t know how different they are (there are always some differences) but I liked it ok. I’m still not in a rush to buy the books though.

Leave a Reply

