Thursday 13:

Okay, really, I wanted to smack him. My palm ITCHED to smack the crap right out of him.

Who you ask?

A former co-worker. He is young, like super young, youngest the 911 center ever hired young. The fact that he is 6’7″ and legal to vote does not take away that he is a baby.

Like walking fetus, get me?

Anyway, he stopped by the house to chit chat which normally I like and he does a few times a month. He is funny and the kind of old fashioned mannered KID that I like. I hope my sons grow up as polite. But if they are this…STUPID, I will paddle their hind ends!!

Things my embryonic ex-coworker has said to me in the past month.

13- Have you heard of ZZ Top? My mother likes them so I thought you might.

12- George Carlin? Who is that? What seven words?

11- Telly Savalas? Huh?

10- What’s a Fonzie?

9- You saw Jaws? In a theater? Wow.

8- Stamps were a dime?!?!

7- Tianamen Square? Where is that?

6- Johnny Carson? Wasn’t that ‘Walk the Line’ movie about him?

5- Some one shot the pope?

4- He asked how could you learn anything before Google?

3- He had no idea Iran once held Americans hostage.

2- He has never used a BOTTLE OPENER! I asked him to hand me the church key and he went waaaaaa?

1- I was singing along with the radio and mentioned it was the theme for my prom. He said “I heard that the other day on one of those Time Life Collection things.”

Shit, I feel old.

13 Comments

Filed under Humor, Inez, rambling

13 responses to “Thursday 13:

  1. *Groooaaannn*

    You know, this is why I have a love/hate relationship with Jay Leno’s “Jay Walking” segments. On one hand, you can’t believe people are as dumb as they are, yet some of the things they say are so stupid you have to laugh to keep from crying.

  2. LOL

    I’m not going to comment other than that, or you might yell at me. 😀

  3. Yeah, don’t smack him. It’d qualify as child abuse. LOL!

    This keeps happening to me, too, btw. It gets magnified since I’m in Italy and the cultural touchstones are a little different, but the worst part is when it happens and I’m home in the US.

    …sigh…

    Happy TT!
    Ciao!

  4. Jeesh, he really said these things????

  5. OMG! Well, if you’re old then I must be too. LOL! *hugs*

  6. I’m not going to think about this too much. It’s too depressing.
    On the other hand, I got a kick out of the Google comment.

  7. Ouch! lol Living with teens, I so empathize with you.
    Happy T13!

  8. You remember Tienanmen Square? I thought I was the only one.

  9. LOL! Okay, I’m with him on the stamps were a dime thing, but I know about the other stuff!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://paigetylertheauthor.blogspot.com/

  10. You know, everytime I see the name of your blog, my mind goes to a smutty place on that last word. LOL

  11. #13 made me cover my mouth and go “Oh!”. I go through this all the time with the work wife. She didn’t believe me when I told her once upon a time there was at least one death a year in Formula One when I was a kid, or that hockey players didn’t wear helmets.

  12. Jen

    Oh. My. God.
    I got nothing.
    Nothing.

  13. you aren’t old, honey, you’re vintage. lol

    And I’m right beside you on the wine rack.

    But…. some of those weren’t age, they were just… idiocy. How did you learn things before Google? um. the same way you learn things now if you don’t use Google. *eyeroll* [though I admit a strong urge to say, totally deadpan, Wikipedia].

    E

Leave a Reply

