When Did You Get Serious?

All of my kids are in school this year so I have more time to write.  Woot!  Now I can get ‘serious’ about my writing.  Serious for me means writing for a dedicated amount of time or writing a set amount of pages a day.  It also means taking responsibility for my writing.  I can’t push the blame to the stalkers when I  miss or misuse my writing time during the day.  They didn’t make me spend thirty minutes reading comments to a news story.

Getting ‘serious’ also means  to me pursuing publication, but before I can do that I need to stay focused on a wip long enough to finish it.  And that I need to stop dreaming and do.  Dreams can’t come true if they stay in her head.  They need more space to grow and take form.

When did you get ‘serious’ about your writing?  How do you define ‘serious’? What did you do to show you were serious?

8 Comments

Filed under Kimberly, writing

8 responses to “When Did You Get Serious?

  1. I think it never occurred to me that I wouldn’t write for publication. I’ve always written on assignment — whether at school or for my job — so that’s what I did. I wrote a story I liked and submitted it.

    From the moment I realized that I was writing, or thinking about writing, more than I was doing anything else, I was a writer and therefore, serious about publication.

  2. About a couple months ago when I joined RomDivas (and even moreso when I joined a certain organizational online group that :).

    My current idea of serious is that I start getting paid for writing down my stories. I don’t mind starting small and doing a bit of freelance while bettering myself in the craft.

    It’s also important to me that I accomplish other non writing related things in life, so once I found myself working out possible schedules on how to balance everything, I guess I figured I was in for the long haul. 🙂

  3. Katrina

    I still remember the day hubby called me at work and told me his mother couldn’t watch our boys anymore. Either they would have to go into daycare or one of us would have to quit work. I agreed to be the one to quit faster than the speed of light – I knew immediately it would be my chance to get serious about writing.

    And I have, ever since I kissed 8-5 goodbye in April. It was a turning point for me, when I started focusing on publication and the business side of writing instead of just the creative. I have learned so much in a short period of time and gotten over the angst of whether we had made the right decision (losing 50% of our income was a huge adjustment). But I have never been so happy in my life and I am positive about my future in writing for the first time.

    Plus, I get to be a mom to my boys instead of 35 whiney employees.

    Thanks for the great question!

  4. I became serious about writing one year ago this month. I had never written anything before, had no idea I wanted to write.

    Then it hit me one day that writing was an extension of my love of reading. I wrote and sold two novellas within that first six months.

    Then I realized people were actually reading the stories and wanting to talk to me about them *gulp*

    I spent the last year working with a mentor and studying –getting serious. I still have a lot to learn, but I feel pretty good about where I am.

    I sold my first novel length work to Samhain last week, so I’ve committed myself. No time to look back now. lol

  5. About 16 months ago, for me I think.

    I’d had stories published, but I was still writing in dribs and drabs, not doing it everyday and not finishing stories.

    Last July, I decided I had to write more and get more stories accepted. So I turned up in Romance Divas chat August 2009 with a novel to expand and sub. Then I wrote and wrote, finishing a slew of wips, with the plan to sub to the publisher I’d targeted until they couldn’t refuse me, lol.

    I finally got accepted at the end of November, and had about three stories to offer straight away. And because I’d pushed myself into the habit of writing – I was getting 20-30k written in a month – I was producing more.

    I feel much better being serious, lol

  6. I’ve had several spurts of “serious” activity in my writing aspirations, but only in the last two years have I really gotten down the bare-knuckle give-and-take to produce an actual novel.

    I’ve written several, of varying quality, but two years ago I wrote a short story which blossomed into a full novel-length story. I’ve sweat (literally) over the MS nearly every single day of these two years, and now I’m hoping to make a real honest-to-goodness career of this writing gig (alongside my day job, of course. Baby steps…).

    Now that MS is under consideration with a new publishing house, and all signs are to the good, so far. I’m working on a new MS as well, and taking the time to do all the things I need to do as I go (giving and receiving critiques, editing out the chaff, etc) so as not to bog down later.

    I’m going to do this thing, so help me… 😉

    This is great topic to get us all thinking about what we’ve done, and what we need to do, to be serious about our craft.

    Ciao!

  7. Cool question to think back on.

    I decided to write for publication after taking a romance novel class at UCLA.But I got really serious after Fast Drafting my second novel. That was about two years ago.

  8. I think about a year ago. Around the time when a friend began cackling, out loud, in response to something I’d written. I thought, “Holy cow – I can do this thing!”

Leave a Reply

