Final Quarter Part 2

For those of you who commented last Tuesday (Hi Kimberly, Virginia, Lynne!) have you done anything since then to put into motion plans to accomplish your final quarter goals?

I signed up last minute for a Time Management for Writers workshop hosted by Liquid Silver Books and the fabulous Terri Schaeffer, and it really opened my eyes to how much of my time I just…waste. Doing nothing good for anything.

Immediately following the class, I started thinking about schedules and crossing items off lists and I worked up a week’s to-do list to carry around. I made a point to include not-writing things (like knitting and dishes) on the list and so far, so good.

I also rejoined Weight Watchers (I tend to do this periodically – rejoin with the intention of dropping after a couple of months) and figured out I have 14 weigh-ins between now and January 1.

NaNoWriMo’s approaching start date (5 more Sundays!) is taunting me by sticking out its tongue and reminding me how I get every year, single-mindedly slobbish and focused on word count, but I have a plan (my to-do list and my WW points tracker) and I intend to stick to it.

What about you? You have your goals – what are you doing to ensure you’ll accomplish them?

1 Comment

Filed under Emily, writing

One response to “Final Quarter Part 2

  1. mamadivine

    I was surprised to learn how much time I wasted doing nothing too. Right now, I’m working on scheduling the tasks on my to do list. I’m hoping by saying do this task between 10am-11am that I’ll be more focused all around and I’ll get more stuff done. I’m going to start planning things more.

    Good luck with your to do list.

Leave a Reply

