NaNoWriMo: Day 18

I have no idea what your word count should be. Honestly, despite the recent weeks’ posts? I decided not to participate in NaNoWriMo this year. Instead, my focus has been on working on the insane number of projects I have in progress. If you’re still going at NaNoWriMo, terrific for you – I’m really proud and happy for you. If you’re not…well, just know you’re not some sort of writing pariah. πŸ™‚

Instead of word count, I have a little other success to brag about –

1, my critique partner didn’t totally hate my full-length. She did give the crit from hell, though, brutally honest and a little sharp (while also being generous with the praise). The lack of hate? That’s success for me.

2, a couple weeks ago I submitted a story that’s been rejected a few times and today received word that the editor’s interested provided I can work in some revisions. They’re not “change your whole story to be a different story” revisions, so – success!

But the real goal is not yet guaranteed, so I have to actually perform those revisions. And hope my critique partner is feeling a little less snarky when I send the revision her way.

Back to the NaNoWriMo participants: have faith and keep up the numbers. In 15 days, it’ll be your turn to start soliciting critiques.

1 Comment

Filed under Emily, writing

One response to “NaNoWriMo: Day 18

  1. That’s great Emily! Good luck with the revisions, and hope your CP gives you some great and helpful feedback. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

