NaNoWriMo: Day 25

I’m not even going to pretend I’m still thinking NaNoWriMo. Not even on the behalf of folks who are participating. In a way I’m glad I decided at the last minute to forego this year because I’ve had some unexpected medical issues (not major) crop up along with some different writing opportunities that I’m glad I’m able to take advantage of.

I’m currently pursuing audiobook editions of a few of my old titles (exciting!) and have revisions on my plate for one publisher while writing a freebie short for another publisher and Elise Logan and I are working on a holiday free read – things I might not’ve been able to get into if I’d obligated myself otherwise.

Opportunities are important to me. I like knowing I have the freedom to pursue them if I decide I want to pursue them. If you’ve ever heard someone say “I’m not interested in NY publishing,” you might be hearing it from the mouth of a person who’s flighty and interested in last-minute opportunities – like me. To this day the idea of a contracted deadline sets me on edge. I’m afraid I won’t be able to meet it, I’m afraid meeting it will make me miserable, I’m afraid I’ll hate what I’m writing if I have to write it with that sort of pressure. Plus, there’s that opportunities thing.

So my long rambling goal is to get to a point where I can ask  you: what have you been doing in November if you haven’t been writing like the mad for NaNoWriMo? Have you had any opportunities you were able to take advantage of?

And let’s not forget: Happy Thanksgiving. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Emily, writing

Leave a Reply

