The Ideas of March. (Also April)

I once went almost five years without a new idea for a story.  That was okay to me because I had tons and tons of story ideas from my teens and early twenties where story ideas seemed to pour out of me like so much post-adolescent blood, sweat and tears.  Mostly sweat though.  Like Richard Simmons.

I could work my entire life off those ideas and in fact, for awhile I was happy to be without ideas because I was really making a dent in that enormous file of over two hundred WIPS, most of which had like around 2000 words.  That seems to be about where I get with a new idea before I get bored and wander off.  But that was working for me because I finished eight novels off what was already in my files.

In the last few years of my life, probably ten years or so, I might have one or two ideas a year.  Especially since I started writing in another genre.  And that’s okay with me.  Because I finish probably two to three book length novels a year and that’s plenty of ideas to go around and add a spare or two to the idea pile.

Since I had my baby, I had to wait for my brain to come back from maternity land.  But when it did I was, and am, still having trouble writing.  I lack the concentration.  I’ll tell you what I am having though.  Ideas.  Tons and tons of ideas.  In the last couple of months I’ve started seven new stories and seem to have another new idea every day or two.  I can’t seem to get past, in my classic way, about 2K but the ideas are going in the file.

I have no idea what the deal is with all the fresh fodder but I’m not going to fight it.  At least my brain is doing SOMETHING useful while it’s otherwise on vacation.

How many ideas do you come up with in a year?  Do you save the ideas and ever finish them later?  One of my favorite books written in the last five years came from an idea I have when I was fifteen.  (hint: that was twenty years ago) or am I the only one who hangs on until I feel the vibe?

A

3 Comments

Filed under AJ, rambling, writing

3 responses to “The Ideas of March. (Also April)

  1. Kimberly Farris

    I get hit with ideas almost daily. I write them down in a binder before I forget them. I have several that I started, but abandoned. I hope to tweak them and finish them one day.

  2. it usually hits me just as I’m finishing up the previous one. I don’t get swamped with ideas until then.
    Weird, I never really thought about that. Now I’m scared that they aren’t hitting me all the time…

  3. talesfromthecrit

    Kim, I’m a little jealous. December when i first realized the ideas weren’t coming all the time i was scared too. but it seems to be a stop and go thing for me.

    AJ

Leave a Reply

