Ode to my Future Agent…

This song is insanely popular so I hear it about a million times a day.  Then suddenly the other day it occurred to me that this song is an ode to my future agent.  Just Haven’t Met You Yet, by Michael Buble, which looks suspiciously like bubble to me.  I would embed the video, but my computer got a virus a few months ago and I haven’t been able to appropriate download anything since then.  Including pictures and videos.  So I’ll just link you, here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1AJmKkU5POA

In case you live under a rock and you haven’t heard this song, take a listen, it’s cute.   The song is obviously talking about love and not agents.  But here’s what I’m saying.

I’m not surprised, not everything lasts
I’ve broken my heart so many times, I stopped keeping track
Talk myself in, I talk myself out
I get all worked up, then I let myself down

Okay, here’s the first verse.  I say read it like this.  I’m not surprised, not everything lasts.  I’ve been rejected so many times, I stopped keeping track.  Talk myself in, I talk myself out.  I get all worked up, then I let myself down.  How many times have we had this experience?  We say, “this is the agent.  This time, she’s going to like me.” and we get all worked up.  And then we doubt ourselves and then we get worked up again.  Until the rejection comes.

I tried so very hard not to lose it
I came up with a million excuses
I thought, I thought of every possibility

Now read this one like this.  Obviously, I tried so very hard not to lose it I came up with a million excuses, well to me that’s how I feel about the whole process right.  Maybe a million excuses of why they aren’t interested lol.

And I know someday that it’ll all turn out
You’ll make me work, so we can work to work it out
And I promise you, kid, that I give so much more than I get
I just haven’t met you yet

Here’s where we have a shot of enthusiasm for the future potential of our relationships with our agents we just haven’t signed with yet.  You’ll make me work, so we can work to work it out.

I might have to wait, I’ll never give up
I guess it’s half timing, and the other half’s luck
Wherever you are, whenever it’s right
You’ll come out of nowhere and into my life

I might have to wait, I’ll never give up.  I guess it’s half timing, and the other half’s luck.  Could there be more appropriate phrasing to describe the publishing game?  For the purposes of this blog, I’m saying there’s not.

And I know that we can be so amazing
And, baby, your love is gonna change me
And now I can see every possibility

And I know that together we can be so amazing and I’ll be just like Nora and Stephanie Meyer someday and people will make action figures of my characters and you’ll take a chunk of every dollar.  And, agent, your representation is gonna change me.  I’ll see every possibility…for international and film rights.

I’m telling you.  This is a perfect ode to an agent.  Forget love Michael Buble.  Let’s talk multibook deals.

AJ

3 Comments

Filed under AJ, bizarre analogies, Humor, rambling

3 responses to “Ode to my Future Agent…

  1. It is perfect! Very cute.

  2. inezkelley

    Snerk, I agree

  3. emerson

    aj, you wag! love it.

Leave a Reply

