Thursday threesome: Learning to Read

Reading comes before writing (even if the tales exist first in your head). I don’t remember learning to read. I know I was reading in Kindergarten. I have loved words ever since. Here are three things I remember helping me read as a child.

THE ELECTRIC COMPANY

Rita Moreno screaming HEY YOU GUYS was my cue to stop and run to the TV. Morgan Freeman, Carol Burnett, Bill Cosby, Mel Brooks, Joan Rivers, all the people I would later watch for other reasons did silly skits and taught me things in disco-image aided style.

SESAME STREET

Before Elmo… when Kermit was a reporter and Mr. Snuffleupagus was invisible. Before Mr. Hooper died and Gordon was replaced by the bald guy. I have a strange love of this show that continues today. Grover will always be my favorite.The fact it is still around and more popular than ever says something.

SCHOOLHOUSE ROCK!

Tell me you just didn’t start singing Conjunction Junction, what’s your function? or I’m just a Bill, Sitting here on Capitol Hill. These Saturday segments were nothing but pure learning set to music and given visual appeal. In College, my professor had us watch, learn and memorize the preamble to the Constitution. He used Schoolhouse Rock to do it. You could nearly hear the musical rhythm when we recited it. I think this one needs to come back, BIG TIME!

These shows help teach me to read and helped make me a writer. Not bad for a bunch of boobtube fodder, huh?

5 Comments

Filed under Inez, misc., writing

5 responses to “Thursday threesome: Learning to Read

  1. I don’t remember learning to read, either – though I remember glomming everything in sight as early as first grade – but do remember these programs. At least Schoolhouse Rock is now available on DVD!

  2. Wow! Interesting, I can’t remember when I couldn’t read. I have memories of being very young, but reading is such a part of me that even when I didn’t, my dad read to me… Interesting! Thanks for posting!

  3. Jeanette Murray

    My mom said Sesame Street was the one show I used to sit still for as a teeny child. Totally making that a constant for our kids!

Leave a Reply

