I Couldn’t Put it Down

When I say that I couldn’t put a book down, it isn’t necessarily a good thing.  I am one of the few, the proud, the weird people who can not possibly stop reading a book no matter how much I hate it.  I don’t know why.  For me a wall-banger is when I throw it at the wall after I read the end.  Why do I do this to myself?  I have no idea.  It doesn’t matter if the plot is stupid, the dialogue trite and the characters TSTL.  I have to finish reading once I start.

Don’t get me wrong, it may take me awhile.  Weeks, sometimes even months, but I will finish that gawd awful book.  Oh yes, I will.  Do not doubt me, my brothers and sister, for there is not a book so bad that I will not finish it

And the weird thing is it’s not like I’m so dedicated to everything.  I will abandon craft projects mid-bead with nary a glance behind me.  I will walk away from redecorating a room without ever wondering again how that wainscoting would have looked.  But that book about the were-octopus who falls in love with a trash collector in a magic purple velvet suit…that I just can’t abandon.

So am I the only one who can’t let sleeping books lie?  Or are there others of you out there compelled to read the worst of literary’s garbage merely because you had the misfortune to pick it up in the first place?  Maybe there’s a twelve step program.

Dear bad book, I wish I could quit ya.

AJ

9 Comments

Filed under AJ, bizarre analogies, reading

9 responses to “I Couldn’t Put it Down

  1. I always finish too even if I am left scratching my head and going WTF??

  2. Kimberly Farris

    I’ll sometimes skim the last couple of pages of a bad book before putting it down. Usually though, I close the book and move on.

  3. >>I wish I could quit ya.

    LOL! I think I have a point of no return. If I’ve read a chapter or two, I can put it down. If I get halfway, I feel I’ve put in too much time not to give it a college try. I’m like Kimberly though, I’ll skim pretty badly, but I’ll finish. Usually there will be one or two redeeming points

  4. talesfromthecrit

    I think that’s what it is for me too Jeannie. I think I feel like I’ve made an investment and I have to see it through. I just can’t figure out why I don’t feel that way about anything else. When I was younger I think I thought that if I kept reading it might get better but I’m not sure that really happens with most bad novels.

    I just keep giving them a chance to redeem themselves. Kimberly, do you ever get reinterested by the end and go back to where you were?

    Oh good, Inez. Another person with a compulsion to finish a book. At least I’m not the only one.

    AJ

  5. Peach

    I used to be this way but lately, time is full and life’s too short to waste on a book I don’t like. Actually, one book in particular cured me of this compulsion and I have never looked back.

  6. Sasha

    My sis is like this to a T. I used to be this way, and then I discovered that all the time I spent w/ bad books meant I couldn’t find (or write) better ones. So I don’t have that problem, though I will (often) read the last chapter for closure.

  7. talesfromthecrit

    Peach, maybe that’s my problem. I need the name of the book that cured you, that is so bad it’s like the holy trinity of bad books. And then I’ll be able to stop.

    Sasha, I find this last chapter reading thing an interesting phenomenon. If I’m going to hate a book enough to stop reading it, why do I care why it ends?

    AJ

  8. I feel guilty when I don’t finish… But I’m trying to get over that. Would rather read books that I like than struggle through ones that are going nowhere for me.
    (The possibly related posts auto generator was bang on this time!)

Leave a Reply

