Chasing Pavements, Poking the Muse

They say that it helps train your brain for a specific activity if you can expose yourself to the same sort of stimuli each time you do it.  Sound and scent are suggested most of all, but some people train their brains with lucky hats or a special pen.  I can’t work off of smell since I change my perfume and/or bath scents on a daily basis (I currently smell like Pomegranate and Mango if you care to know),  I prefer my hats cute and not necessarily lucky, and I’m too hard on pens to have a special one.

But I’m a sucker for sound.

I don’t have particular playlists for projects (at least not yet), but the main playlist that I did all of my writing to last year started with Adele’s Chasing Pavements. It’s a beautiful song and her voice is just haunting.  Even now I can hear the opening line, and my brain immediately goes into writer mode.  I start thinking about the next phase of the story, start plotting the next twist, start entertaining new shineys.  For this reason I have to avoid this song during edits, but new words are coming soon and I’ll definitely use it to Poke the Muse.

So tell me.  What are you using to Poke your Muse?

4 Comments

Filed under Sasha, writing

4 responses to “Chasing Pavements, Poking the Muse

  1. Kimberly Farris

    My writing playlist, jellybeans, Red Vines and as a last resort muse crack.

  2. Sasha

    lol Muse crack? I’ve never seen this, but I might be in need of some if the new shineys won’t leave me be.

  3. Jeanette Murray

    I poke my muse (ha, that sounds wrong) with a comfy chair, an icy cold drink (ice water, pop, lemonade, whatever) and salty snacks…or chocolate.

    My muse is chubby. 🙂

  4. talesfromthecrit

    I’ve never thought of doing that before, but what a good idea. Sort of Pavlovian. I see or engage in this stimuli and now I’m ready to write. I should train myself that way and then I can quit blaming the baby. Hmm, maybe I don’t want to do that. The baby is a good excuse…

    AJ

Leave a Reply

