Forget a Hero, I Need a Schedule

I’m exhausted.

There are 7 days in a week, 24 hrs in a day, 168 hrs in a week, 10,080 minutes in a week.  I know that.  Well not the amount of minutes, I had to math for that.  My point is, I’m more than aware there is a finite amount of time I have to work with.  I also know that there are certain time sucks (DAY JOB!!!) that will eat a definite amount of time.   I need to focus, harness my free/down time and maximize every second of it.

I’m failing.  Spectacularly.  Epically.  Whatever-kind-of-ly you’d like to use here (they’d all be pretty much appropriate).

I’ve crammed a lot of living into the past few months, and yet it feels like I went to sleep on Jan 1st and woke up today.  We’re almost at the half way point of the year, and I haven’t even made a dent into my goals.  Every time I look at them I get queasy and it somehow turns into watching an episode of The Office.  If sanity were measured in the amount of words I got out of my head and into a WIP, I’d be certifiable, completely locked underneath the Psych ward, trussed up Houdini-style while they started to brick over the door to my cell.  (Clearly I can beat a metaphor into the ground)

I need to focus.  I need a schedule or a system or a minion to do the lion’s share of the work.  Want to share yours?

2 Comments

Filed under writing

2 responses to “Forget a Hero, I Need a Schedule

  1. Don’t make me cyber slap you, Sasha! Let’s see so far this year you’ve made progress on the blog postings. *looks around* This is a new blogging forum, is it not? You’ve found some crit partners. Now you just have to ask them for some help! *wags finger* You finished Beauty and are now EDITING! That’s the first step towards being a grown up writer, isn’t it? You’ve actually pitched to an editor. And didn’t pass out or nothing!

    My point is that, yes a schedule is important. But so is celebrating the little victories too. You write because you enjoy writing. Don’t forget that while you’re checking off your to-do list! ‘Cause if it’s not fun, why do it?

    But to answer your question: My schedule is to go into work early four days a week to write (which sux because I have to be proactive for a change!) On the weekends I try to spend a minimum eight hours writing–write for an hour and then take a tv/chore/hubby break for an hour. And of course there’s the minion. I pay him by DVRing NASCAR races. 🙂

  2. Sasha

    Gillian I ❤ you! Yes, yes, I *have* done some of the things on the list. It's very, very easy to let the Pffft moments ruin the super-happy-fun-time ones.

    I'll make sure I schedule "Appreciate What I've done" Time 😉

    And I have to get one of these minions. Though I still don't understand the appeal of NASCAR.

Leave a Reply

