My Skin is as Fried as my Brain

I don’t have too much clever to say today.  I’m fried.  I rolled in from a week long vacation to LA about twelve hours ago and I’m feeling it.  But it’s Monday and I missed last week because I was on the road.  So here I am.

I didn’t write the entire time I was on vacation.  In fact, I rarely even thought about writing.  Mostly I just thought about corralling my three kids in a state where people apparently don’t actually have children (or McDonald’s) and if they do have children they are hiding them somewhere.  I always felt extremely conspicuous with people staring at our three children the way people might stare at someone with eight kids in another state.

Anyway, one thing I did notice was while I was at Disneyland.  Come about dinner time (sixty dollars thanks for asking!) I realized that I’d had about forty moments of “what if…” during the course of the day.  I love what if.  The seeds that become plot bunnies that become stories.

Will I write any stories about my what ifs?  Probably not.  I don’t even remember most of them now.  Although I swear one of the animatronic pirates was totally following me with his eyes and he’s really an escaped prisoner trying to prove himself innocent of some terrible crime.  Forced to hide momentarily inside a children’s ride…

Yeah, anyway.  It’s a miracle how the mind of a writer works.  Don’t you just love it?

AJ

Leave a comment

Filed under AJ, writing

Leave a Reply

