Trying Something New

For the last two years, my family has been doing Tea Day. We sample different teas and rate them. It’s a good way to spend family time together and also good way to teach the kids how to articulate why they like or don’t like something.

This year’s Tea Day reminded me the importance of trying other genres and authors. Something I don’t do enough. So I’m going to read two books in genres I don’t normally read and read two authors I’ve never read before by the end of the year.

When was the last time you tried a new author? A new genre?

9 Comments

Filed under Kimberly, reading

9 responses to “Trying Something New

  1. I actually did this just a few weeks back. I was in the library trolling the new release section while my daughter was in the teen section.

    I only had a few minutes to spare and the cover of a book caught my eye.

    Turns out is was inspirational romance – I’ve never considered an insy before as I really love my hot sex scenes *grin* but the story line intrigued me.

    I ended up liking the book and enjoying the authors voice. I’ll be definitely be looking for more from her.

    So go try it! πŸ™‚

  2. i try new stuff more in ebooks. i don’t know why, but i give myself much more freedom there. or rather, i give authors much more opportunity. if a blurb is bad on a print book, i plop it right back down. if the cover is stupid, i won’t even pick it up. if the writing i open to is strong, i still suspiciously study it before buying. i hardly ever read out of my preferred genres in print. i guess the tactile feels like more of a commitment, although the prices really aren’t that different. last time i tried something new in an ebook was last week. a bdsm author that ended up squicking me out. but the writing was good. i wanted to like it and kept reading but couldn’t finish cause the content was just too uncomfortable for me. i’ve got a historical lined up next. hardly ever read those anymore. it’s a western, a subgenre i really hardly ever touch. i enjoy contemp westerns, so i’m interested to see what changes with the historicalness.

    • Kimberly Farris

      I think the last western I read was one of my dad’s Louis L’Amour books when I was in elementary school. A western will be one of my new genre books.

      Thanks for commenting.

  3. Katrina Williams

    I read all genres of romance I can get my hands on but I have so little time to read, I have been choosy lately. In May, I picked up Sherry Thomas-Not Quite a Husband, whom I’ve not read before, because Jeannie Lin recommended it and I trust her opinion. It’s historical, but not my normal time period fav, so I would call that a new author and a new genre (sort of).

    • Kimberly Farris

      I haven’t read a historical (80’s bodice ripper) since I was in high school. I’m making a historical my second new genre book.

      Thanks for commenting. I hope you enjoy Not Quite a Husband.

  4. I’m horrible about breaking out. HORRIBLE! Even when I have tried new stuff, my success rate for finishing or liking is very low. I started a new book from the historical inspirational genre several months ago… but didn’t get more than a few pages into it. 😦 I did break out into paranormal a couple of years ago and loved it… but the tone in a paranormal romance is very close [or can be] to that of a romantic suspense, so I wonder if that counts.
    New authors is a different story. I like picking up new authors to try them out. πŸ˜€

  5. Kimberly Farris

    I’ve discovered some good stories by picking authors I’m not familiar with.

    Thanks for commenting.

  6. I recently read some women’s fiction set in a yarn shop. I enjoyed the first two books of the series but just couldn’t get into book three.

    I do try to read new to me authors now and then. Due to my upcoming lay off I’ve been saving the pennies by haunting the library. Right now I have first couple books of Terry Pratchert’s Discworld series, which I started to read years ago.

    I’m thinking I’ll read a medieval romance(not a fantasy). I don’t think I’ve read one since the 70’s.

Leave a Reply

