Where Is The Love?

I love you, but I’m not in love with you.

That’s how I felt about my current wip for the last several months.  As much as I loved the premise and my characters, I struggled to make progress on the story.  Getting 250 words would sometimes take me two hours.

I tried various things to up my productivity.  Writing first thing in the morning instead of waiting until the kids were in bed.  Setting daily time goals instead of word goals to take some pressure off myself.  Lowering my daily writing goals to build my confidence.  I even tried mooching off the enthusiasm writing friends had for their own stories.

Nothing worked.  I still wasn’t making the progress I wanted on my wip.  And my excitement about the story still hadn’t returned.

Then a couple of weeks ago, I read the vision statement I came up with for my writing business plan.

Aha! moment.

I realized I’d become so caught up in the routine of writing that I forgot there was more to writing than hitting my writing word goals.  I’d forgotten the purpose of my writing.

The love  for my wip is back and is stronger.  I’m exceeding my daily word goals for my wip.  And I am head over heels in love with writing again.

How are you feeling about your current wip?  How are you feeling about your writing?

6 Comments

Filed under Kimberly, writing

6 responses to “Where Is The Love?

  1. I know this feeling as I’ve been in that rut lately. I was doing better at the beginning of the summer and then something lagged. Not sure what, but I’ll find it again. I’m glad you have!

    • Kimberly Farris

      Hannah,

      I’m sure you’ll get back in your groove too! Please let me know when you do and I’ll celebrate.

      Thanks for commenting.

  2. Katrina

    I’m so glad to hear you’re back in the swing! I was struggling with my wip too until you spent 45 minutes of your own precious time to help me see I really do know my characters. I whine a lot and I appreciate the kick in the butt. So I am in love with my world, characters and writing in general (plus I reread some of my previous scenes and you know, it’s just not that awful. With hard, hard work, it’ll be good one day.)

  3. I’ve been struggling with my completed first draft and it’s been in the “revision” process for more months than I care to admit. I loved it one minute, hated it the next, and felt indifferent in the next. Talk about a rollercoaster ride. Geez. But I do love the story. I love the characters. I just decided to get out my own way and hit the ground running. So I’m back to revisions and I am excited about it. Good luck with your WIP.
    Debra

    • Kimberly Farris

      Debra,

      Congrats for getting off the roller coaster. It can be scary going to the next writing phase. Good luck with your revisions. When you finish this round, let me know so I can celebrate.

      Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

