Writing Without The Internet, Part 2

Check out Part 1 here.

I spent a week without the internet at my in-laws. The goal was to write as much as possible and see how the lack of internet affected my writing. Would I struggle without that support there (for instant research, for chat rooms with fellow writers, for just a brain-break to surf the net, etc.)? Or would I actually be more productive because the net wasn’t there to distract me and suck me away from my writing?

The results? Inconclusive.

I know. Kind of anticlimactic, uh?

Anyway, it’s hard to know. I got a chapter written, but only one chapter in one week is kind of lame. However, we were also very busy so I didn’t have my normal amount of time to write. Plus, visiting with family is a distraction in and of itself.

So I can’t know I guess, without trying the experiment at home where I am on my normal schedule without other outside factors, and literally unplugging the wireless router. Yeah. That’ll happen. Ha!

So for now, I guess it’s just the way it is. I will write as I need to write, and if that involves the internet, so be it. Wish me luck, I’m about 25% of the way through a new first draft!

Leave a comment

Filed under writing

Leave a Reply

