To Do And Not To Do

Last week,  I was reading Trust Agents by Chris Brogan and Julien Smith (it’s a book on business and social media).  There’s a section that talks about coming up with a list of things you need to do and things you need to stop doing.  I’m a list maker so this resonated with me.

I also realized this is something I need to apply to my writing life.  I know the things I need to do for my writing, but I’ve been slow to put them in action.

Part of the reason is that my Writing Do To list is in my head.   Aside from my sometimes faulty memory, I can usually find a reason to not do something on the list.  It’s the same with the Writing Stop Doing list.  I’m aware of the things  I need to stop doing, but I choose to ignore them or do something else.

Here some things on my Writing To Do and Stop Doing lists:

To Do:

  • get a website up
  • participate in conversations instead of observing them
  • read more fiction
  • hold myself accountable to the goals I set

Stop Doing:

  • downplaying that I’m a writer
  • waiting until the last minute to write my blog posts
  • writing story notes/ideas on the nearest writable surface
  • being on the internet without a purpose

I know there are more things to add, but my faulty memory is failing me at the moment.  Later today, I’m going write the lists in a notebook and then figure out what actions I need to take to make each item on the lists a reality.

So what’s on your Writing To Do and Stop Doing lists?

7 Comments

Filed under goals, Kimberly, writing

7 responses to “To Do And Not To Do

  1. I’m bad about being scattered and it shows in my writing. I’m trying to figure out a way to spend bigger chunks writing instead of ten minutes here and ten minutes there. It’s almost going to take a really drastic change, like getting out of the house for that period of time. So that’s my to-do: carve out that time and make it sacred.

    To stop: setting unrealistic goals (though if I carve out my time, I have a suspicion I’ll get more done…)

    • Kimberly Farris

      Making my writing time sacred and letting my family know that it is made a big difference in my writing. Before I could blame them for me not hitting my goals. Now, I’m responsible for reaching or not reaching my goals.

      Thanks for commenting.

  2. Shante'

    This is a great topic. The top of my writing to do list would be WRITE….. sounds like it would not need to be included but believe it or not sometimes the time gets away from me and I have spent an entire day not writing. And I am also trying to read more which is another part of it.

    The top of my stop doing list would include “being on the internet without a purpose” like you. But RD counts as a purpose they are my co-workers so I guess I am just addicted. 🙂

    • Kimberly Farris

      I’m working on keeping WRITE near the top of my to do list, but some days non-writing stuff pushes it to the bottom of my list.

      Good luck putting and keeping WRITE a top priority.

      Thanks for commenting.

  3. Timely topic. Hmm. Things to do? The first one is a no-brainer yet it eludes me. Finish my revision. Get back on a writing schedule. Blog regularly since it’s something I enjoy.

    Things to stop doing? Avoiding the revision, watching re-runs of NCIS & Criminal Minds and stop waiting until the very last second of the day to write my blog post which I just end up not doing.

    Oh, one more thing I should do is to add Trust Agents to my to buy list.

    Debra

    • Kimberly Farris

      I’m not sure I could stop watching re-runs of NCIS and Criminal Minds, I enjoy those shows too much.

      Here’s a link to Chris Brogan’s blog at chrisbrogan.com. He discusses lots of thinks that can apply to writing/a writing career.

      Thanks for commenting.

  4. I can relate. I actually bought a thesaurus so the internet is less tempting.

Leave a Reply

