On Top of the Hill?

Hilltops can be nice places. Up above the world, with a good view of everything, they have their own kind of peaceful solitude, right?

Unless you’re on top of that hill because you’re just s step away from being over it.

Yeah, guess whose birthday is looming.

Next week I turn thirty-nine. That’s kissing forty and a very weird age to be. Why weird? Because looking at forty, up-close and personal, is driving home the fact that I’m no longer young. My days of late-night parties, hanging with my girlfriends, and blowing money on frivolous shopping trips are behind me.

But while I’m not young, I’m not old either. I still have years before that retirement kicks in. My kids are still home with me and while I’m starting to get the occasional gleam of silver in my hair, it’s still looking brown.

Okay, I admit it. I’m hitting the middle-age doldrums. I’m fully ensconced in that point of life where I stop dreaming about what I’m going to be when I grow up because this is it. I’m as grown up as I’m going to get.

Even though this top-of-the-hill experience is a little humbling, I’m not letting it get me down. Not by any means. I still have so much going for me. I have great kids, wonderful friends, and my life’s dream of being an author is finally happening. Life is beautiful and I’m celebrating it.

Oh, and how I’m celebrating… Next year I might be over the hill… but this year, I’m on top of it!

Starting next Monday the celebration begins on my website. In honor of this last look at my thirties, I’m having a website party that will start next Monday stretch through the end of the year. My friends are bringing presents for me to share with you and there will be games, puzzles, mancandy, and the return of Cat Yodeling!

I’m kicking off the giveaways early, right here on the tales blog. Post your happy birthday wishes and be entered in the drawing for a $10 Boarders gift card. (Drawing for US residents and mailing addresses only.)

Voirey Linger

11 Comments

Filed under coming soon, giveaway, misc., rambling, Voirey, writing

11 responses to “On Top of the Hill?

  1. Tarlonis

    AND you’re a great person!

    Happy Early Birthday too. 🙂

  2. Happy, happy birthday girl.
    You will NOT be over the hill at forty, I promise. Do enjoy the last year of the thirties. Can’t wait to see what’s going on at the website next week.

  3. Great way to look at it. You have to reach the top if you’re ever going to be “over”. 🙂

    Sorry for the early “Happy Birthday” wishes on Twitter. I jumped the gun. Have a great celebration! I’ll celebrating my own birthday. Not forty yet, but getting there. 🙂

  4. Sasha Devlin

    I’m much more concerned about this cat yodeling business. I plan to crash the bash anyway.

  5. ChrisQ

    Happy B-day Hon. You’re not much ahead of me so I’ll just let you break the years in before me. 😉

    *hugs* my friend. Have a fantastic b-day! We all deserve a day to just enjoy. Make sure you try to take the day for yourself.

    -Chris

  6. Happy birthday!! As long as you’re content with how things are going, forty can’t be *too* scary, right? 🙂

    Also, I love cat yodeling, I think it’s the funniest thing ever.

  7. Macy

    Happy early birthday!

    Hope that you have a great day with lots of presents and treats, and I am definitely tuning in for that cat yodeling!

    Oh, and you are never too old to hang with your girlfriends and blow ridiculous amounts of money on things you don’t really need. 😉

  8. Rosie Nguy

    Happy Birthday! Lovely post.

Leave a Reply

