The Downside of Publishing…

I should be thrilled. Buzzing even. Dancing on clouds. I’ve completed my next book, Forsaking Eternity. I’m being published for the second time.

So why am I not thrilled? Well, part of me is. I’ve made a sale. My next angel is going to be coming out… er, and it’s an m/m, so he’s really coming out… and I’m going to qualify as multi-published. But between now and then comes…

*GASP*

The paperwork.

As I write this blog, I’m up to my eyeballs in sorting contact forms, hunting down new forms, going over my cover art form, and trying to figure out of there are any other forms that need to go with all of these. The legalese, with all its T crossing and I dotting, leaves me feeling more than a little lost on the best of days. I think i need a little lawyer fairy who presents me with forms, tells me to sign here and there, and then sends them to the right place for me. Why? Because I am convinced I’m screwing everything up and selling the book to martians when I have to figure it out myself. I’m a creative person. All this contract stuff conflicts with creativity.

Unfortunately, there is not lawyerly fairy. I have to slog thorugh all the contractual information myself. But the good news is that by the end of the day it will all be done and Forsaking Eternity will be taking that first step on the road to you.

If I can get the paperwork figured out.

Voirey

Leave a comment

Filed under coming soon, misc., new release, Voirey, writing

Leave a Reply

